We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OB Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This was a great hostel, clean, friendly, plenty for breakfast, there was washing machine facilities or coin laundry close by.
I will say thought if you wanted to do a lot in town, stay in town. Transport isn't great at night or weekends out to OB.

Room Tip: Luggage does fit under the beds!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

I like immediately this hostel, very close to the beach and any amenities. The receptioners are available and friendly, you have access to a lot of services and most of them for free. There are a lot of young people and the hostel organizes several activities everydays such as party, city visits and bonfires. Maybe the room size is the only possible observation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcobL8677RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The property was very clean and there were plenty of bathrooms (never had to wait) and breakfast was great. The staff was extremely helpful. I rented bikes there it was inexpensive. The staff told me the routes and I got to enjoy a beautiful ride from Ocean Beach to La Jolla. The events the hostel had included on fire and pub crawl and the staff or awesome and fun to hang out with. I guess we're awesome I met people from Holland South Korea Argentina and Holland. After 3 days I made friendships with some. I highly recommend USA hostels in Ocean Beach

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 601richmondw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

First time in a hostel and really enjoyed how friendly everyone was and how easy the staff made everything.

I was only staying one night, but they were very accommodating with allowing me to check my bags behind the counter in the morning before checking in and the afternoon after checking out.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 500clarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I was only there one night but everyone was so friendly! They let me store my bag when I went to the beach for the day and then also let me take a shower when I picked my bag up. I'll definitely be staying here again in the future!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 492lid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,959 reviews
Downtown
USA Hostels San Diego
USA Hostels San Diego
#2 of 66 in San Diego
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lucky D's Hostel
Lucky D's Hostel
#4 of 66 in San Diego
685 reviews
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
#3 of 66 in San Diego
159 reviews
Downtown
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Address: 4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3112 (Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $40 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Ocean Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach just 2 blocks away, a newly remodeled hostel with all new rooms, beds, and hang out space, and a free shuttle to area attractions and downtown, there’s no better beach choice than us! Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel, now with new owners and new management, you get the best of the Ocean Beach vibe and the amenities that USA Hostels is known for. You’ll make great memories here as we have loads of activities designed to help you make new friends and have new experiences. Join us for our beach bonfire with hot dogs and s’mores, show us your beer pong skills or relax after a day of sun and sand at our ‘family dinner’. If you want a beach break we’ll take you to the Zoo, SeaWorld, Downtown or La Jolla and even drop you off at the airport for free! Our dorm rooms feature USA Hostels exclusively-designed ‘privacy pods’ that not only provide screening from roommates but a reading light, shelf, usb plug and outlet. Free security lockers are also provided. Most rooms have a sink and some rooms are with full bath. Amenities include a FREE shuttle to the Zoo, SeaWorld and downtown. We loan out beach gear and have low cost rentals to try your hand at surfing too. We’re surrounded by restaurants, bars and shopping in the heart of Ocean Beach but also have plenty going on at the hostel to keep guests busy. Check out our list of activities and amenities below: Hostel Activities: • 4x a week free shuttle to the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, USA Hostels downtown Gaslamp location and airport • La Jolla free shuttle twice a week • Beach bonfire 2x a week with free hot dogs and American camp fave S’mores • Weekly Beer Pong tournament • Coastal bike ride tour twice weekly • Yoga class twice weekly • Weekly farmers market • Pub crawl twice weekly • Hostel dinner nights FREE Amenities including: • Daily breakfast of baked goods, oatmeal, fresh juices, fresh fruit, coffee/tea and more • WiFi • Lockers • Bed linens and bath towels • Beach towels/mats, umbrellas, chairs and coolers • Guitars, board games and foozball Discounted: • Surf lessons • Wet suit rental • Bike rental • San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Harbor Cruise tix ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your USA Hostels Ocean Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach International Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing