We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient way to visit San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The facilities available as well as the location of the hostel (in the middle of the very active Gaslamp Quarter) make it an ideal place to stay if you want to visit San Diego and make the most of the night life (many bars and restaurants are easily accessible)

Having visited several Hostelling International hostels, I will however point out that there are not (or weren't at the time I went) many activites offered by the hostel. If, like me, you're looking for a place to meet other travellers and socialize, this is not the best hostel to do so. That being said, it is easy to get around San Diego and meet people in bars...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate the feedback, and I will be contacting you personally as well to get your take on activities at our hostel, as we are trying to put on more and more. Currently, we have 2 free weekly walking tours, 2 pub crawls, 2 weekly dinner nights, a farmer's market trip, and a movie night. We try to have these activities go off without a hitch, but if only 1-2 people sign up for them, we sometimes have trouble making them run. Usually though, as we fill up for the summer, our activities get bigger and better. Thanks again for the wonderful comments, and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 204 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Excellent hostel, location is central, just a walk from train station, zoo, park, right amongst many cool bars, shops and eateries. Breakfast is fine, fairly standard. Rooms were cleaned daily & if you like a very very soft mattress this is the bed for you. However very very noisy at night

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyShanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. In terms of the noise you mentioned, we recommend that people call us ahead of time and request a quiet room, and we will do our best to accommodate. We appreciate your business, and the time you took to review us. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at this hostel with my girlfriend back in October with a friend of ours as we travelled around the US. It was one of the best hostels we encountered in our 3 month trip.

We stayed in one of the very reasonably priced private rooms for around 5 days, The room itself was really nice and cosy with really cool decor. I would strongly recommend the private room to couples; If I remember correctly it was cheaper than two people paying for dorm rooms.

The location was absolutely ideal; in the heart of the Gaslamp District, surrounded by awesome bars and restaurants and only a 5/10 minute walk from the Greyhound station. It's a fair hike to the zoo (though we did it) and near to numerous bus routes to all the nearby touristy locations.

The staff were arguably the best we came across on our entire trip. They were never too busy to help you and offer friendly helpful advice. The breakfast was very good, and they even did evening meals based on donations.

I'd strongly recommend this place to anyone wanting a great place to stay in San Diego!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beznee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. You are correct about the private rooms. Most of the time a private with a shared bath is as cheap as two dorm beds. I am also glad to hear that you had such a good experience with our staff, as it is our goal to make everyone feel comfortable in the city we all love. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Friendly staff and and central location, the only quiffs I'd have about it was the outside noise... it took awhile to get used to it. The broadband speed was terrible. Very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for the review, and the kind words. We are currently working on our wireless speed. We have just purchased some new equipment and should be getting it up and running soon. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Hostelling International for one night in January 2012. The hostel itself is in a central location and is great for exploring San Diego and the local bar/restaurant scene.

We stayed in a private room with bathroom, the room was clean and comfortable.

We were very disappointed with the staff who we found to be rude and unaccommodating. Requests and interactions were treated as though it were an inconvenience & it was not a welcoming atmosphere at all.

Alcohol cannot be consumed on the premises & whilst we did not want to get raucously drunk, we did feel that this should have been made explicitly obvious when booking.

Breakfast was included and adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGaslamp, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

I apologize for the poor customer service experience you have had while staying with us, and I will be contacting you privately to gather more information regarding this. In regards to the no alcohol policy, this is an HI-USA policy that we must adhere to in order to retain our charter with them. So yes, we do need to be very adamant about it. It is noted on all of our booking sites and we do reiterate the policy upon check-in to all of our guests. I will however, look into ways to make it more clear, bolder fonts, make it more obvious on our confirmation email, etc. As always, we greatly appreciate the feedback, and will work to make our hostel a better place. Thank you very much for your business, and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#68 of 278 in San Diego
860 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
240 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $58 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing