We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
756
422
132
52
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
422
132
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spg member gaslamp district heavenly bed walking distance business hotel starbucks coffee uss midway horton plaza lobby bar front desk agent gas lamp airport shuttle valet parking convention center business trip bay view higher floor
Filter
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Hotel very pleasant, and in good location. For quite good. However, the $45 overnight parking charge slipped in at checkout was no pleasure, nor was the $20 charge for sundry optional items, which also only appeared at checkout. Management was cooperative once their attention was acquired.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

H Kenneth F – I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and its superb downtown location. Parking is scarce which is why we are happy to offer valet service for our guests’ convenience, priced accordingly to the area. I am glad this was resolved to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We were disappointed with our stay at this hotel in April 2016. The hotel is pretty dated, and although some small attempts have been made to update aspects of the décor, it’s not the overhaul that this place needs. The “rooftop pool” is actually on the third floor, and there’s very loud traffic noise, so it’s not a peaceful area, plus the hot tub looked in need of a good clean. We visited friends staying in the Westin Gaslamp Quarter and it was much nicer.

We also had a lot of construction going on around our room during our stay – perhaps a room had flooded? – but there was no acknowledgement from hotel staff about the pretty significant disturbance that this represented. In short, I wouldn’t return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LikeItIs-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

LikeItIs- Reviewer – I am sad to hear of the disappointment experienced during your stay. We have completed a full property renovation to match the latest in design by Westin just last year. I hope you brought your concerns to us during your stay so we could make it right. We hope you keep us and Starwood’s many brands in mind on your return to San Diego.
Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

The location was perfect... Not far from Broadway pier/ gaslamp quarter/ Horton Plaza/ USS Midway and many other attractions. You can literally walk to any of the important places in the south area.

The room size was big and nice.

They have an extra charge called facility fee of 20$ per night, which you get to know when you check in. That's a slight bummer, since you are happy catching a good deal.
Its not too much of a charge for the value they provide, but having it mentioned in advance would be appreciated.

Definitely a place you can stay in when in San Diego.. irrespective of if you are visiting alone or with family.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Anujay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Anujay M – I love hearing how you enjoyed our ‘perfect location’, walkable to all of downtown San Diego’s finest. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful stay. The hotel, its location and the staff was a perfect beginning to our 11 day cruise up the Pacific Coast. Recommendations for restaurants, sights to see, and directions to both were especially appreciated and given graciously by Helen (front desk) and Daniel (Concierge)....really can't say enough about how they both added to making this vacation even more special.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonBPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

anonBPA – It makes me so happy hearing about your ‘perfect’ stay; especially the contributions of our staff. They truly are our greatest asset. We can’t wait to welcome you back to San Diego soon!
Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my then GF and we loved the cozy feel the hotel had.

At the time I was beginning to explore beautiful SD. We loved the SD Downtown feel and the Hotel in the middle of it.

We noticed it was somewhat old but they kept up with some renovations.

This stay was one of many in SD as we continue to visit SD and stay at different Hotels.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Chitoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Chitoman9 – I am glad you enjoyed our ‘cozy’ hotel conveniently located in downtown San Diego. We look forward to welcoming back you and your girlfriend on your next trip.
Be Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews