We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for three nights. I can't say enough about the property, the staff and the grounds. Whoever manages this hotel knows how to do it right!. I will never stay anywhere else when visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank You Michele!
What a fabulous review that I look forward to sharing it with the rest of our team. A personal Thank You from our General Manager, Bob as well and we will see you on your next trip to San Diego.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    341
    81
    42
    30
See reviews for
762
742
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The plus items for this hotel: great location, 25 minutes from airport (depending on traffic); 15 minutes to SeaWorld and easy route on regular streets; 35 minutes to LegoLand and Zoo is close also. It is right on the beach, well really 30 feet above but easy walk down steps. Nice pool and hot tub. The breakfast (on site) is good (cereal, scrambled eggs, omelet, bacon & link, potato, coffee, juice. The room is small but in the 3 hours open the tables turn over pretty fast and you can eat easily outside. If you have AAA card breakfast is half priced and no rental charge for bikes and other plus card benefits. Kono's (2 blocks down beach walk) serves good breakfast, long line that moves fast and for less than $7 each --good. Kono's also has outside espresso stand for morning walks. They have fitness room at garage level and bonus/play area (kids) above breakfast area. We bought our LegoLand tickets from Hotel Consigner and saved $7 each. Very secure, safe area. Rooms are nice (a little dark inside) with large screen TV. Underground parking is secured by metal roll-up gate at entrance and exit. About 5-6 blocks away is a Starbucks, CVS drugstore, Ralphs supermarket. We also ate at Nicks (next to Ralphs) which was good food with kids menu (large & busy bar upstairs and in part of main floor.
We had the larger suite with a regular room adjoining. The difference is the suite had a bar/ counter with some bar chairs, sink, microwave and cabinets with dishes/flatware. I would do regular room next time since we only did popcorn in microwave.
The negative:I would not recommend staying in room 110. The elevator is right across from the door and the breakfast area is just down the hall (after room 111 & 112 i think). From 7 am you are awakened to kids yelling as they get off elevator to run down the hall and at night 12-2am you are awakened by laughing and yelling from those waiting for the elevator. I must point out that this was during spring break, so it may only be a problem on friday/saturday nights at other times. We also had room 111 and people do sit right outside your patio area eating breakfast, so many times you wake to kids screaming. The mornings should be no problem if you're up before 7am. The TV in 110 was a dark screen. Really really dark. Engineering has the remote to adj brightness/contrast. It may be time to change this TV because even thought Engineering was prompt to come in and adj. it was still fairly dark after he finished. He said something about the TV may have a feature that automatically darkens the screen based on the amount of light in the room.
Also, the beds are on a platform. They do provide a small 2-step stool (located in closet) to help get up and down. But if you have any mobility problem or are short this could be a problem. Oh, speaking of short...or the opposite, the shower head is high, you can be 6-3 or more and enjoy the shower.
We will stay there again, mostly because of location, the beach, the safe walking along the sidewalk/boardwalk (?? not really a boardwalk but great for many people walking and bikes going by).
One more thing that was nice was that when making the reservation, they assigned the room right then. I requested first floor and was given 110 & 111 at that time. Now in hindsight, 2nd and 3 floors are better, just remember or ask where they are in relation to breakfast area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a 10 as last 2 numbers are by one of the elevators and 1st floor 110/111/112 are close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

there are only a few things that hampered our stay, but those are merrilly personal preferance, the rooms were very well kept, and the service was decent. The recomendations on part by the staff was a bit lousy, but if your looking for accomodations few choices would be better than the Pacific Terrace Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay there. Absolutely wonderful place! Great location on the beach and close to everything in San Diego and close to La Jolla. The staff is very attentive and will go out of their way to make your stay great.

There are many restaurants within walking distance that are very good. Didn't matter that there is not a restaurant on site. They will get food and drinks for you while at the pool. Breakfast is served at the hotel is and excellent.

Pick the pool chairs on the right hand side. Much less windy.
Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 212. Beautiful ocean view. Could also see the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

When we checked in we asked if we could upgrade. They said only for part of our five day stay. So we had two nights in a full ocean view which was beautiful. We then moved to a partial ocean view ( We paid for upgrades for both rooms) and unfortunately, the room was on the second floor with the valet parking outside the balcony, a view of the public restrooms plus the ice machine outside the room. We should have asked to see the room first. It was too noisey and not a room to pay extra for. We also had to ask for them to clean our room. The fresh fruit and cookies every eveningwas nice. It was also nice to have washing machines available. The beach area was nice and the pool area. We did manage to find parking on the street but only because it was off season. Another thing that was quite sad was the homeless people around the restrooms and the early round up by the policemen one early morning.

Room Tip: Look at the room first before you agree to it. Full ocean views were really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chopin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review. We appreciate it and always find the comments most helpful. I would like to apologize for the second room not meeting your expectations. If the staff was alerted of the issues I believe they would have addressed them. I would certainly like to address your concerns, when you get a chance if you could contact me or any guest service agent at the hotel.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed some of our other amenities during your stay. Once again please accept our apology and it would be an honor if you decided to visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
886 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,154 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $420 - $896
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing