We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, convenient location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice staff, convenient location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel when we went to San Diego in October 2011 (I'm a few months late in reviewing). The hotel is in an ideal location -- it's right on the beach and just a few seconds walk to Kono's Surf Club Cafe which has one of the most delicious breakfasts I've ever had (definitely worth the wait on line). We arrived at the Pacific Terrace before our room was ready but they were very accommodating in holding our baggage and letting us use the facilities and the pool. They also gave us a nice room upgrade and a bottle of wine as we were celebrating our anniversary, which was a nice touch. I can't say enough about how welcoming and helpful the staff is at the Pacific Terrace -- they all seemed genuine too, like they really wanted to help and were not just asking because they were getting a paycheck to do so. The room was incredibly clean and comfortable. We loved that the hotel offers bicycles that you can take along the boardwalk, it was so relaxing and fun. We didn't stay by the pool much, as we really wanted to enjoy the beach and boardwalk and check out the san diego bar scene and attractions (the Zoo is a must -- it's just incredible and not like any zoo you've ever been to!) , but the pool area looked nice. As for San Diego, I'm so in love with this city. The people are the friendliest and most happy people i've ever met in the U.S. I can definitely see my husband and I relocating to SD down the road. if you're comfortable using public transportation, don't be afraid to take the local bus to any attractions or anywhere for that matter -- it's MUCH cheaper than a taxi and it's very convenient. The bus stop is a few seconds walk from the Pacific Terrace and the transit system in san diego seemed very easy to use. Taking the bus gave us a chance to talk to the locals and see some parts of san diego that we prob would have missed if we took a taxi (downtown, little italy, etc.). I won't hesitate about staying at Pacific Terrace the next time we visit.

Room Tip: The balcony is worth the extra few bucks :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCDee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,461
    331
    80
    41
    30
See reviews for
740
729
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We just returned after a week at Pacific Terrace! We did not want to leave! It is a great hotel and what a perfect location, right on the ocean ! We arrived at the hotel too early for check in,seeing our room was not ready yet,they offered us an upgrade to the Master Suite on the 3rd floor. WOW! We are so glad we did it! The room was awesome with King Room, jacuzzi tub,walk in shower,double vanities,seperate livingroom, kitchenette,dining table and 2 balconies! The views spectacular! The staff was very helpful and could not have been happier with their help. We used the hotels bikes every day for a lovely bike ride along the beach . We really enjoyed the pool area and also spend days on the beach across from the hotel. We never had breakfast at the hotel, just because we started our days with a long bike ride or walk and would end up having breakfast along the way. The Green Flash was our favourite - a 5min walk down from the hotel with glass patio overlooking the ocean,great for people watching while enjoying coffee and Blueberry Pancakes or Eggs Benni! The frontdesk staff organized a taxi for us every night to go for dinner in La Jolla, about a $13 drive. Do yourself a favour and try The Marine Room and Tapenade in La Jolla!amazing. We also had dinner at JRDN twice, a 2 minute walk down from the hotel! We had an unforgettable stay and already miss our room and views.Thank you Pacific Terrace for a perfect week!

Room Tip: We preferred the 3rd floor,the views were stunning.Make sure to book a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelling77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
292 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. This was our first stayat this unique hotel and fully enjoyed it. The hotel is a small one with an intimate feel to it. The entire staff was truly wonderful! The rooms were decorated beautifully and the bed was super comfy! Now this is not a cheap hotel and was told that the rates used to be much better, but they still don't seem to have any trouble filling the rooms. The breakfast that they have each morning is a really good one! The breakfast bar gives you everything from dry cereal to omelets and waffles. They also offer fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast, coffee,toast and juice. Something for everyone! You also get half off if you are in one of the upper range rooms. The pool area is beautiful with lots of greenery and is kept incredibly clean. The hottub is also very nice and a great place to go and meet other people. At night, the lights come on and you almost feel you are in Hawaii! Not to mention the sunsets you see from your balcony! They are very helpful in making dinner arrangements for you and can even give you VIP cards at various restaurants. (Thanks Katherine!) There is underground parking that is gated, so there is never a question of safety....no matter what time you are coming or going. This is an incredible place and would not hesitate to spend time there again on our next trip to California. The Pacific Terrace is a unique hotel all around! Love it!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor and face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!! This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in San Diego and had an amazing stay here.

The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and efficient and the service they provided made such a difference to our stay.

We booked the presidential suite and wow, it was wonderful!! The bed was huge (I actually had to climb up into it!), comfy and had a view looking right onto the ocean from it which was beautiful and very relaxing. We had a large balcony overlooking the ocean which is wonderful for having a drink and watching the sun go down. The balcony isn’t too private as it also overlooks the pool but with a view like that we didn’t mind at all.

The room was spacious with a kitchen/dining area and a good size fridge, the wood and kitsch tropical floral design was very fitting to the beach location. The bathroom was wonderful, with a huge Jacuzzi bath – pure luxury! Separate walk in shower, WC and large marble top dressing table area with terry cloth robes. The hotel offer a turn down service in the evening with chocolates on the pillows and this was a really nice touch.

The pool is nice, clean and a good size with views of the ocean. There is also a hot tub which stays open after the sun has gone down. There were lots of sun loungers and the pool area was really quite peaceful (we did stay out of season). The bar by the pool does happy hour from 4pm with 2 for 1 drinks and the friendly bartender made us some awesome frozen margaritas!

Location is amazing, couldn’t be better! The hotel is right on the beach, with beautiful views and beach walks and walking distance to lots of nice restaurants and bars.

Valet parking is available at approx $20 a day and we did use this service on the first night. It is pretty easy however to find free parking on the streets around the hotel if you didn’t want to pay.

I loved this hotel and if we are ever lucky enough to visit San Diego again, we will definitely be returning and recommending to all our friends!

Room Tip: Presidential suite had views of the ocean from the bed and large jucuzzi tub - well worth the splurg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your wonderful comments. Our team enjoys reading comments about their hospitality, such as yours. The Presidential Suite is one of my favorite rooms in the hotel and I am so glad you were able to enjoy it on your visit to San Diego. We hope you will make it back to both San Diego and the Pacific Terrace again in the future.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. We were greeted upon check-in and offered an upgrade which we graciously accepted. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We had an amazing view. The front desk staff were very professional, pleasant, helpful and knowledgable. There is no onsite restaurants, but many good restaurants within walking distance. There is room service to the hotel from two nearby restaurants vWe ordered twice and the food was delivered promptly and was good. Large portions so we saved by splitting an entre. We were well satisfied with our stay here and if in San Diego in the future will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbarak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): $413 - $802
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing