We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've found "our place"!”
Review of Vintage Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vintage Sol
Ranked #13 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I write this review with some trepidation, fearing that once people find out about Vintage Sol, it will be incredibly hard to book a trip there in the future--and my husband and I definitely plan to return.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room had absolutely everything we could need or want. The courtyard was private and inviting. The breakfasts were exquisite--even surpassing those served at a popular La Jolla restaurant--and brought to the room or courtyard. The decor was truly one-of-a-kind, and I was awed at the creativity displayed. Paisley showed perfect friendly professionalism, and had great suggestions for places to visit and things to do.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thankfulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed at Vintage Sol April 16th and 17th while visiting friends in San Diego. I chose this wonderful B&B because of the previous glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Paisley has lovingly provided everything you could possible need during your stay. The refrigerator and cabinets are filled with complimentary drinks and snacks. As other reviewers have stated, the breakfasts are amazing. What a cook! We felt guilty because we couldn't clean our plates.

The outside patio and interior of the casita are filled with amazing antiques and fun South of the border handicrafts. Each evening, after enjoying our intimate surroundings, we sank into the luxurious bed for a good nights sleep.

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere different while you visit San Diego. Yes, Vintage Sol does not offer a huge room and bathroom, but all your needs and more will be provided in this very unique casita. Thanks again Paisley for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californiatraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is definitely not your Holiday Inn! If, like me, you enjoy B&B's for the adventure, this is your perfect place. It was totally unique. You have a tiny casita (in your own courtyard outside of the owner's house) all to yourself decorated with everything from Mexican angels to Frida Kahlo portraits, You are the only guests so it is very private and quiet. The bed is the best I've ever slept in. The location is terrific -- only a short drive to Balboa Park and the zoo and very convenient tolocal restaurants (which were terrific and inexpensive--not tourist traps). The refrigerator is stocked with soft drinks, juice and gelato. Paisley was very nice and helpful. There were a few things that could use improvement, but they didn't diminish our enjoyment of the place. You have to make your own coffee in the morning and there is no decaf. Also she does not clean if you leave after 10 am. The shower definitely needs a redo, since the doors are difficult to slide and some of the decorations outside are getting shabby. The door also does not lock (however the courtyard door does so you are safe). But really these negatives were minor compared to the charm and quiet of the place. Also the food was wonderful with lots of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired-teacher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 April 2011

Thank you for your review and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. To answer some of your concerns. I am sorry about the oversight on the decaf coffee. We have included decaf to the in room selection. Check in and cleaning times are limited due to work and school schedules.. We have replaced the french door lock. We are looking into changing out the shower doors but the home is over 72 years old so some sticky doors and quirks are to be expected. Many of the outdoor pieces lean toward a rustic aesthetic in keeping with our love of vintage patina, aged painted wood, rusty ironwork and repurposed salvage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Adding my voice to the chorus of hallelujah's over the glorious little gem that is Vintage Sol. Just returned from a solo getaway visiting San Diego friends, while resting my head and soul in Paisley's magical garden. A quiet neighborhood street, 5 or so blocks from great restaurants and shops -- you could pass Vintage Sol and never take note of the lodging, except to admire the artistic touches around the main house and in the stand-out landscaping. But wind down the path to the courtyard door, pull it's heavy iron loop, and wow. Just.... wow. The little guesthouse casita sits at the back of this stunning space -- exploding with flowers and fruit and art everywhere you look. It's like stepping into another world, and the double doors leading into the lodging reveal more delight. Proprietor Paisley has simply thought of everything. The petite, cozy (but larger than expected) space has been lovingly appointed with more terrific artwork, vintage finds, lush bedding, interesting books, spectacular tile work and more. The space has also been expertly maximized so that nothing ever feels cramped. There's a place for everything, no details spared, and welcome little touches, like high end coffees, sweets, popcorn, and just about anything you might have forgotten on the toiletries front.

Paisley herself is an utter delight -- warm, welcoming, like a long--lost friend, but never intrusive. This was perfect for me traveling solo, without my husband and son. I had the privacy I wanted, and the warmth, security & connectedness that I needed not to feel alone or unsafe. And her breakfasts? OUT. OF. THIS. WORLD. I typically just have a protein or granola bar in the morning, not being a big morning eater. That changed the instant I laid eyes on her version of Green Eggs and Ham on Dr. Seuess' bday. Holy smokes. Glorious, ridiculous, obscene breakfasts with fruit like you wouldn't believe. I polished them off daily and they kept me full all day and most of the nights.

Okay, so -- maybe Vintage Sol isn't for everyone. If you hunger for traditional hotels, familiar surroundings, if you expect the expected, maybe this isn't your place. What Paisley has lovingly crafted is a one-room artistic funky inn, with the luxury of a boutique hotel, and the comforts of staying with a stylish hospitable friend. For me... as good as it gets. Bless you, Paisley, for creating such a glorious space and for sharing it with me last week.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barest_smidgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

What a fun place to stay! The room is very nice , clean and there is EVERYTHING you could possible need. The patio is just beautiful, with wonderful karma and the breakfast was outstanding. The surrounding area has so many great restaurants and good shopping. Thank you Paisley for the great accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manature1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,943 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,068 reviews
Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
#10 of 33 in San Diego
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Sol

Address: 3606 Felton St, San Diego, CA 92104-3811
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $170 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Sol is a unique artsy Spanish Bed and Breakfast. A fresh new approach to the traditional B&B. Stay in your private tiny Casita filled with Mexican handcrafts, revolving vintage collections and local artists work. Eat alfresco in the color drenched courtyard with fountains, herbs and fruits. We use organic cage free eggs and organic herbs in our dishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing