We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wow, wow, wow it was winderful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11

Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Public and private 3 hour sailing charters aboard the authentic 1992 America's Cup racing yacht, Stars & Stripes USA-11. Take the helm, grind the winches, or just hang on as this amazing high performance racer zips around San Diego Bay at twice the speed of the average sailboat. A truly unique and memorable experience. Soft drinks, water, peanuts, & pretzels are provided at no cost. You are welcome to bring your own camera, but a crew member will be taking complimentary photos & videos of all the action on board as well as the sights of San Diego Bay. After the sail, complimentary refreshments are served while viewing the days activities on our flat screen TV. The photos & videos will then be posted on Google Web Albums for free access and use. The total cost of $120 for adults & $60 for children (18 & under) is the best value and most exciting venue on San Diego Bay.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Essexville, Michigan
1 review
“Wow, wow, wow it was winderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

From experienced sailor to a first timer our excursion was perfect. With winds in the upper range the boat cut the water so efficently there was no chance of sea sickness. The boat is in enpeckable shape, clean and well maintained. Captain Lynn, Mark and crew were very compentent and happy to give special attention to make our passengers expirance memorable. Nice job, see you again next time we're in San Diego.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    18
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
“Amazing Afternoon of Sailing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Sailing with Captain Lynn and the crew of the Stars and Stripes was a terrific adventure. This was my first trip to San Diego and this sail afforded me great views of the city and the harbor. Of course, sailing on a world class racing yacht was an amazing experience as well. The crew was extremely pleasant and was happy to teach you about sailing and get you involved with operating the boat. Of course if you preferred to sit back and enjoy the ride, you were more than welcome to do so. I could see this being a fun trip for all ages and groups of all sizes. You are welcome to bring a camera but the crew takes a lot of pictures of the trip and makes them available to passengers afterwards.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt_P17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hi Matt, thanks for the great review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Afternoon on the Bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We booked this trip as sailing in San Diego was a must-do on my husband's wish list for our trip. Booked this tour via email, super easy. The actual sail was so fun and my husband enjoyed it so much, me as well. There was not a ton of wind that day but what an experience to be on a boat like that. Lynn and Bee were so nice and welcoming and made everyone comfortable on the boat. We were all very much included in the sailing activities, taking the helm or helping with the sails. My husband was very involved and loved every minute. This sail is a must-do on anyone's trip as you get to see some of the sights of the Bay from a very different perspective than on land, wildlife, Navy ships, etc. After the sail, we gathered in the office and looked at the pictures from the afternoon and had some drinks...so great!! Thanks Lynn, Bee and the wonderful crew!
Suzanne & Matt

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank smmcisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hi Suzanne, Thanks for the wonderful review and we hope to see you and Matt back again. Try us in the summer, the winds are much more consistent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Breathtaking Views and a Great Workout (if desired)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This afternoon sail gives an inside view of the racing sailboat life, rife with passion, toughness, and gritty, hard work. It was inspiring to watch the crew coalesce as a single unit to navigate this gorgeous vessel. Of course, they are knowledgeable and dedicated people, making it all look easy. These people are no snobs. If you wish to work for your views, the crew on USA11 will put any willing visitor to work grinding sails and steering the boat during tacks and jibes. On the other hand, if you wish to sit back, relax, and let the views come to you, you can do that, too. Whether participating or observing the work, you will come to appreciate the sheer strength and timing required to perform the dance of sailing on the fastest of sailboats in the world. Many of the crew are ex-military who have intimate knowledge of the bay and the Naval operations surrounding it. All-in-all educational, inspiring, and fun--my muscles thank you!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dassel, Minnesota
1 review
“Once in a life time opportunity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I totally enjoyed my afternoon on Stars and Stripes. Every member of the crew makes the experience of sailing on a world class racing yacht all the more memorable. Lynn makes sure that everyone has the opportunity to take the helm and any other crew chore you wish to experience. Bee Takes photographs that are truly wonderful and then provides them to the sailors at no charge. She also serves the post cruise wine while we enjoyed reviewing the photographs.
As someone who has had the opportunity to race some very impressing yachts I was like a boy in a toy store when I stepped on Stars and Stripes 11. Every jibe and tack brought back many wonderful memories .
This is truly a once in a life time opportunity for a bargin basement price. Take an afternoon that you will never forget

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayCollins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 also viewed

 

Been to Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing