We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience San Diego Zoo
San Diego Zoo
185 Reviews
from USD 54.00
More Info
from USD 94.00
More Info
from USD 89.60
More Info
from USD 56.00
More Info
Reviews (25,291)
Filter reviews
25,291 results
Traveller rating
17,900
5,142
1,688
390
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17,900
5,142
1,688
390
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panda exhibit sky tram kangaroo bus guided bus tour big cats safari park polar bear walking shoes wear comfortable shoes day pass behind the scenes free parking animals skyfari hippos cheetah gondola
Filter
Updating list...
1,744 - 1,749 of 25,291 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Lots of kids running around, but lots of happy kids being able to see things that they would never be able to see before. What a beautiful zoo, clean, friendly staff, worth every penny!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank gengolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

went therewith my wife, drove from Chula Vista and it was a great l time until my allergies acted up in the afternoon and we have to leave.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank bsbtfdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The San Diego Zoo is ranked tops in the US for a reason. However, we greatly preferred the San Diego Zoo Safari Park to the main zoo property. When we visited the main zoo, half of the animals were hiding and not viewable in their enclosures. If you are going to the Zoo definitely 1) arrive at open, 2) go straight to the guided bus tour line, 3) after the bus tour go see the pandas and 4) use the Open Table app to make lunch reservations at Albert’s.

Now, if you plan to see both parks during a visit to San Diego, definitely hit the main zoo first. We did the reverse and were kind of disappointed in the main Zoo. Consensus with my family (including 13 and 7 year old children) was the Safari Park was hands down the best. So if you have to choose between the two parks definitely pick that one.

Date of experience: April 2018
6  Thank bluzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We absolutely loved our visit to the San Diego Zoo. The diversity of animals, the layout of the exhibits, the included bus tour, and the included Skyfari really make this zoo stand out. We arrived at the zoo around 9 AM, when the zoo opened, and didn't leave until 6PM, but I'm pretty confident that we actually saw all the animals!

Some tips:
1. We purchased our tickets online through aRes travel, which saved us some money ($47 instead of $54) and allowed us to immediately walk in upon arrival.
2. Go see the pandas first! The exhibit actually didn't open until 9:45AM, so we did have to wait a bit, but we found the line to be very long later in the day.
3. Definitely take the included Skyfari and bus tour. The lines move quickly, and both are really unique experiences. We actually went on the Skyfari twice because we loved it so much.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank Sooji K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had one day to see the zoo during our spring break vacation. We were lucky that it was a but of a cool, drizzly day so it kept the crowds manageable. I highly recommend taking one of the 2-hour behind the scenes tours. We did the the penguin one. We were up close to penguins and the pandas. We also got to feed/pet a camel and be feet from a bird being trained. In an extended golf cart, we also got to see about 1/3 of the zoo without walking! The tours are not cheap, but it does provide high value given the incredibly knowledgeable guides and it supports the mission of the zoo.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank itinerary_queen_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews