We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Research”

Kansas Museum of History
Ranked #5 of 45 things to do in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The striking "White Buffalo" sculpture outside offers an inkling of the interesting exhibits inside this museum, including a steam locomotive, a Southern Cheyenne teepee, one of the largest collections of prairie memorabilia in the U.S. and a hands-on children's area. Admission is $10 for adults, and $5 for children aged 2-17. Admission includes admittance to the discovery place.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Doing family genealogy research and the staff was very thorough and professional. Especially Lisa. Do not miss the museum.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank spencers1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"civil war"
in 18 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 8 reviews
"real train"
in 7 reviews
"steam engine"
in 6 reviews
"native americans"
in 9 reviews
"full size"
in 7 reviews
"state archives"
in 3 reviews
"modern times"
in 3 reviews
"permanent exhibits"
in 3 reviews
"recent past"
in 3 reviews
"nice gift shop"
in 6 reviews
"amelia earhart"
in 4 reviews
"wizard of oz"
in 4 reviews
"walking trails"
in 5 reviews
"two hours"
in 5 reviews
"couple hours"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 8 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We really enjoyed this museum. It covered the history of Kansas from its very beginning until into the1980’s. It was big with lots to see.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My husband and I (who are not Kansas natives) took our visiting friend for a "Kansas History Lesson". We were all three impressed by how engaging and informative our time was. We soaked up Kansas history in the chronological walking loop (complete with replica steam engine) and had a sobering experience in the most recent exhibit featuring Topeka native and POW Colonel Hughes. It was a chilly day, but we did explore some of the outdoor walking trails and appreciated the many hands-on kids areas. I highly recommend this experience to anyone interested in history!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank MunchettaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Could spend a whole day here. Very well organized. Lots of exhibits and written info. Trails to walk outside. Could see something different going back another day. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice gift shop.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank gibby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Not being a Kansas native, this museum offers a real look at the history and events that shaped the state with something for both adults and children.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank BarbaraJRunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kansas Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing