We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location, on the corner of Newbury Street and Arlington...great shopping and dining. We were able to check in at around 10:30 am, so that was nice. The hotel itself is fine. Our room was a little small and the bathroom was very small. Shower had incredible hot water with heavy pressure, which I like. Molton Brown bath products. The sheets are Frette, wonderful, I think I am going to order a set. The bed was very comfortable. My husband hates down pillows, I thought these down pillows were maybe the best ones I have ever slept on. The hotel is pretty quiet, not much going on. It is hard to compare hotels in a city when you have only been to one hotel so far but the price was great at a little over $200 for what the hotel offers. We did not eat in the restaurants, but the dining room looked cozy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    718
    281
    142
    71
See reviews for
621
962
129
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our second stay at the Taj. First you have to remember that once the location of Boston's finest is no longer the Ritz Carlton and they struggle maintain the old expectation. We checked in 2 hours early and our room was not ready but they would put a rush on it. Finally 1 1/2 hours later we were give an alternative room which was an upgrade. It was very nice overlooking the common. The room price was reasonable and certainly less than the Ritz days BUT how can any hotel in this day and age charge for internet service? Two computers = two charges ... unbelieveable and irritating.

You cannot beat the location. This hotel is probably the best value in Boston. The Ritz was (is) special and unusual, but get over it this is the Taj and all things considered a very good hotel.

We will return and if the internet is free we'll give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kentito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have stayed here before. Compared to a few years back the place seemed upgraded and improved in many ways. This time we were only here for one night but the stay was perfect. Our view was magnificent and the service here was fabulous. The room was perfectly clean. The staff could not have been nicer and more friendly and welcoming. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. I would strongly recommend a stay here for anyone wanting a calm lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park across the street. It is beautiful both night and day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgirltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pioneer valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Only had one night at the Taj but everything was perfect! Location, staff, room, and amenities cannot be beat in Boston.
Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband & I stayed in for 1 night expecting the same service we received at the Taj in Mumbai & Delhi a few weeks earlier. Not even close.

We arrived with bags in hand - no one opened the doors - valet watched us struggle and then when we got to reception we thought a bellboy would come right over to help us. No such luck. Typically not a problem but we had so many bags and we were just so exhausted from the day when we arrived to the hotel.

We got in our room and the first thing we noticed was how outdated the rooms were and strangely the furniture was placed. The TV was placed to the left of the bed, not centered. The shower had shower curtains instead of doors so that instantly grossed out the hubby.

Since we were so tired, we looked out the window (fantastic view of the park) and then went to sleep

In the morning, we noticed that the water in the tub was not draining and the TV was not working. We called the front desk - they said that they would send an engineer over right away - no one ever came.

When we complained to the manager, she said that they would definitely look into it for the next guest. What about us?

It wasn't as relaxing as we hoped, not worth the money, and definitely does not live up to the Taj name.

We got food at the bar for lunch - staff seemed bored and one of the servers in the bar kept looking out the window.

Manager really needs to step up to the plate to make this hotel a 5 star experience from managing staff better to making the rooms nicer as it is absolutely not at the moment.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kongju21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $395 - $926
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, DerbySoftTaj, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing