We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Boston
Nearby Hotels
USD 317*
USD 296*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 489*
USD 360*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 339*
USD 299*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 394*
USD 361*
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 431*
USD 389*
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 418*
USD 362*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
USD 364*
USD 263*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 223*
USD 197*
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Kimpton Onyx Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
USD 251*
USD 227*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
USD 407*
USD 358*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,937)
Filter reviews
2,937 results
Traveller rating
1,521
816
337
168
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,521
816
337
168
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewbury streetmolton brown toiletriesfireplace butlerpark viewgreat locationthe ritzpublic gardensroom serviceelegant hotelturn down servicebeacon hillan upgradefreedom trailconciergeluxurycommonsslippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,328 - 2,333 of 2,937 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our second stay at the Taj. First you have to remember that once the location of Boston's finest is no longer the Ritz Carlton and they struggle maintain the old expectation. We checked in 2 hours early and our room was not ready but they would put a rush on it. Finally 1 1/2 hours later we were give an alternative room which was an upgrade. It was very nice overlooking the common. The room price was reasonable and certainly less than the Ritz days BUT how can any hotel in this day and age charge for internet service? Two computers = two charges ... unbelieveable and irritating.

You cannot beat the location. This hotel is probably the best value in Boston. The Ritz was (is) special and unusual, but get over it this is the Taj and all things considered a very good hotel.

We will return and if the internet is free we'll give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have stayed here before. Compared to a few years back the place seemed upgraded and improved in many ways. This time we were only here for one night but the stay was perfect. Our view was magnificent and the service here was fabulous. The room was perfectly clean. The staff could not have been nicer and more friendly and welcoming. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. I would strongly recommend a stay here for anyone wanting a calm lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park across the street. It is beautiful both night and day.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgirltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Only had one night at the Taj but everything was perfect! Location, staff, room, and amenities cannot be beat in Boston.
Stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband & I stayed in for 1 night expecting the same service we received at the Taj in Mumbai & Delhi a few weeks earlier. Not even close.

We arrived with bags in hand - no one opened the doors - valet watched us struggle and then when we got to reception we thought a bellboy would come right over to help us. No such luck. Typically not a problem but we had so many bags and we were just so exhausted from the day when we arrived to the hotel.

We got in our room and the first thing we noticed was how outdated the rooms were and strangely the furniture was placed. The TV was placed to the left of the bed, not centered. The shower had shower curtains instead of doors so that instantly grossed out the hubby.

Since we were so tired, we looked out the window (fantastic view of the park) and then went to sleep

In the morning, we noticed that the water in the tub was not draining and the TV was not working. We called the front desk - they said that they would send an engineer over right away - no one ever came.

When we complained to the manager, she said that they would definitely look into it for the next guest. What about us?

It wasn't as relaxing as we hoped, not worth the money, and definitely does not live up to the Taj name.

We got food at the bar for lunch - staff seemed bored and one of the servers in the bar kept looking out the window.

Manager really needs to step up to the plate to make this hotel a 5 star experience from managing staff better to making the rooms nicer as it is absolutely not at the moment.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kongju21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel seeveral times on business trips varying from a few days to a couple of weeks. This hotel has Boston Bhramin written in it's DNA. Arguably the hotel with the most illustrious history in the city( the likes of Winston Churchill have stayed here), it reeks of old world charm and old time breeding. It is fitting that the taj group of India have taken over this hotel from the Ritz Carlton group - for there is perhaps no chain of hotels in the world that understands the meaning of "Heritage" more than this group.
The suites( room numbers ending with 09) have working fireplaces with a "fireplace menu" that comprises of your choice of several types of wood. And believe me nothing is more welcoming than a crackling fire in the midst of a sub zero Boston winters evening. Room numbers ending with 31 are large corner rooms overlooking the Boston public gardens and Commonwealth Ave. Stunning from the higher floors. The staff are always friendly and welcome you by Your name. There are some staff left over from the Ritz days that have not yet imbibed the meaning of Taj hospitality. If you are a club member, then you have access to one of the finest rooms you will ever be privileged to enter - the club lounge on the 15 th floor with magnificent views of the Boston skyline and the park below. You can have breakfast lunch and dinner here, whilst you gaze out at the wonderful view outside. I have not decided which is the better view... Boston in winter or that in summer.I have spent many a restful hour in this room working,reading or just drinking coffee in hushed silence. I have also stayed in many other hotels in Boston bur absolutely nothing comes close to the Taj.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BanajiMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews