We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

It is an amazing hotel located in the heart of Boston with easy access to sightseeing attractions and few minutes walk to Boston Common and Chinatown. The service is worth every penny and the breakfast was very good for a change form getting a sandwich from nearby cafes. It has some reastaurants in the surrounding area that you can get a bite for a cheaper price than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,469
    2,420
    1,010
    423
    215
See reviews for
1,720
2,435
399
1,882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Nice hotel. Historic ambiance. Weekend stay could have been better if the A/C was working!!! Blast!!! Overall recommendation....but not in hot weather.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polynikes41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
I apologize that our AC unit was not working properly. It does not state whether you contacted our Front Desk to relocate you to another room or send our engineering team up to fix the issue. Our staff continuously strives to provide exceptional service to guests such as yourself, and I hope that you will give the Omni a second chance on your next stay in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at the Omni Parker House for three nights in April 2012. The hotel has a great location for visiting all the downtown historic sites, just half a block to the Freedom Trail and a couple of minutes walk from Boston Common and Chinatown.
We're great fans of historic hotels, but the Parker House is definitely overdue for serious renovation. The building has great historic potential, but mostly seemed dark and rather dingy rather than atmospheric. The lighting in the lobby and dining room was beyond subdued and the hallways beige and institutional.
Since we were travelling with two children we had booked a suite with a sofa-bed. The room itself was fine,nothing fabulous, fairly small. The bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom however was tiny and cheaply decorated - the mirror seemed to be made of polystyrene and the fixtures just utilitarian.The wallpaper was peeling and the hairdryer would definitely not pass European safety standards.
As previous reviewers have mentioned, the walls are very thin and you can hear everyone coming and going down the hallway. The air conditioner was very noisy, and kept turning on and off with a loud clunk, and a noise like a pneumatic drill, which I can only assume was from plumbing upstairs, would wake us up at 4am.
Service was spotty. The first night it took housekeeping 90 minutes to bring pillows for the sofa bed so the kids could go to sleep and only on the first night was there a card to put on the door to order coffee for the morning. When things did arrive, everyone was very cheerful and helpful, but it was not what one expects from a so-called "luxury hotel".
Breakfast is served in the Parker Restaurant. You can order from the menu or serve yourself from a buffet. The buffet was fine, not fabulous, with a decent choice but lacking the little touches that would have made it stand out - why for example, were the croissants stone cold? . The waiters were very cheerful and personable and there is a chef who will make omelettes to order.
Since we were out doing touristy stuff, the hotel was fine, especially since we paid a business rate for the room. It was definitely not a place to feel pampered.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0mble63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Our hotel is located along the Freedom Trail, and has even been incorporated into the Freedom Trail Tours because of our historic nature. We completed a $30 million renovation in 2008 to the hotel’s interior and exterior. Our recently renovated guest rooms blend the authentic decor of the past with contemporary amenities. Our lobby area is fully furnished with new upholstery, new carpets, the original bronze elevator doors, and is always impeccably decorated with fresh floral arrangements and refreshments for our guests to enjoy. We would like to comment for future guests reading this review that there is not a single aspect of our hotel that is dark and dingy or beyond subdued.

In your review you mentioned that you booked a suite; either our Executive or Premier suites. All online reservations channels such as Expedia, Booking.com, and OmniHotels.com does state the square footage of each room type so guests are well aware of what they are purchasing. If this room type did not meet your needs, our Front Desk would have been more than happy to help you.

We do apologize for the delay in the pillows arriving to your room; this is a very busy time for all hotels in Boston and we do try to be as timely as we can. As you stated in your review, our staff is very helpful and cheerful and we would not expect anything less because we are a luxury hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel has an exceptional location at the heart of Boston. Staff was generally nice with the exception of one guy who was very resistant to help us with luggage. The boston cream pie is amazing - the only food we tried there. The reception was sometimes very jammed and seemed incapable of helping us to find the right room. We had asked for a room as high up and quiet. Instead we got a room on the third floor with a lot of noise not only from the heating/aircon but also from the ventilation of the huge house across the street. After 2 days we managed to finally be moved to the 9th floor. This was only possible because we literally passed by the reception 3-4 times per day to tell them.

Im sure it was one of if not THE best at one point in Boston but I guess maintenance and staff just couldnt keep up. Aircons/heating are very noisy and decentral in every room. Our view was not great either. The hotel has a lot of charme but at times this is mixed with an impression of filth and dirt. The beds were pretty soft in typical american style but everything was very clean.

There is a gym but its pretty small and you have to walk through the entire lobby to get there.

Room Tip: As high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is with review such as yours that helps our staff continue to improve and exceed customer expectations. Our front desk staff does update all guest comments and requests in our reservation system and we try to fulfill such requests as often as we can. Unfortunately, at time of check-in there were no rooms available on high floors but we were able to accomodate your needs to the 9th floor when a room became available.

Our hotel runs an extremely high occupancy throughout the year due to high demand, centralized location, and guest preference. One of the short falls of being located in the center of downtown Boston is the limitations on guest rooms with city views. We do acknowledge and apologize that we could not provide you with a more suitable room type however, this is a flaw in most downtown hotels.

We hope that on your next trip to Boston, you consider staying at the Omni Parker House again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The location for this hotel is fantastic. Less than two blocks from Boston Common and the Park subway stop. Beautiful lobby. Very easy check-in. The rooms were very classy. Yes the traditional double was a bit on the small side but that's just the way things are in hotels of this era. Got a very good rate from an external website (less than $140 per night including taxes). I enrolled in Omni's loyalty programme which provided free coffee delivery in the morning, free internet, and free pressing and shoeshine (though why I would want my runners shined or my jeans pressed I am not sure). Overall a very classy hotel with very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Enroll in Omni's loyalty programme
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasherdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,596 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $236 - $694
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing