We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of Aisling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aisling
Ranked #6 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Aisling B&B on our first trip to Boston. We were amazed that Dympna and James picked us up from the airport at 9pm on a Saturday night, but we were so glad they did because we were very tired from a long flight from Australia. They are such lovely and welcoming people. Our room (Salthill) was on the first floor and was quite large with a roomy ensuite bathroom with two basins and a bath/shower. Unfortunately, due to a booking system problem, we had to move to another room for our last night. However, Dympna informed us of this before we arrived and was very apologetic about it when we got there. The other room (Murmod Sanctuary) was on the basement level (just below street level, with windows to the street) and was also nice, but not as large as Salthill and the ensuite was also smaller, with just one basin and a shower. Both rooms were very neat and clean. Wifi is available in the rooms and there is also a computer for guest use in the breakfast room.

Dympna serves a wonderful breakfast each morning including juice, tea/coffee, fresh fruit, homemade granola, muffins and something baked, such as a quiche. The breakfast room is set around one large table where you join Dympna and the other guests. We enjoyed this because you find out so much information and get tips from Dympna and fellow travellers. There is a kitchen in the basement for guest use so you can help yourself to tea and coffee, or heat something up in the microwave.

The B&B is located very close to bus stops on two main routes and we made use of the bus all the time. It is walking distance to great restaurants in South End and the area surrounding the B&B is lovely - beautiful red brick townhouses and leafy streets. We always felt safe walking there at night.

We would definitely stay at Aisling again if we return to Boston.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brisbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    41
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
225
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Mr. & Mrs. Moore made my first trip to Boston a memorable one. The B&B is warm, comfortalbe and cozy. The full breakfast was like know other I have had at a B&B. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My girlfriend and I recently visited Boston for a birthday celebration and were lucky enough to book a room at the Aisling Bed and Breakfast. We both believe that b&b's are the best way to go when visiting a city and Aisling is as good or better than any b&b that we have stayed at in our travels within the U.S. and in Europe. Dympna is a wonderful, educated and sweet hostess. The house is a classic late 19th century brownstone with a great feel to it. The room was the perfect size, clean and it felt like home. The breakfasts were gourmet and there was enough options on the table for any taste. Best of all, Dympna gave us the perfect amount of personal time and was more than happy to converse with us on a number of topics and give us tips on Boston. We highly recommend Aisling for your stay in Boston. It certainly made a great home away from home for our trip.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the 2nd floor (painted green). Perfect size, private bath and shower. A great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have just enjoyed a fabulous 3 nights at the Aisling B&B. Dympna and James are warm, kind, and generous hosts. Their home is beautiful and our room was perfect (Murmod Sanctury). Breakfast was a highlight: not only was the food amazing, but it was an absolute pleasure to sit and chat with Dympna and James. They really couldn't have done more for us and I cannot praise or thank them enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Dympna Moore and her husband, James, offer a beautiful vacation spot at their B&B in the Southern End of Boston at Aisling House (pronounced "Ashling"). We absolutely loved our stay! Great hosts with wonderful breakfasts, travel tips, and hospitality. Snuggly beds, spacious elegant bathrooms, just lovely. Free wireless access. So many great restaurants nearby, and easy walking distance to downtown Boston and historic sites. Picked up from the airport when we arrived. On the main bus route with simple transfer to transit system. Best of everything. Will definitely refer friends. Warm and inviting all-around! A+++

Room Tip: We loved Salt Hill room, but all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,163 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aisling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisling

Property: Aisling
Address: 21 E Concord St, Boston, MA 02118
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price range (per night): $299 - $399
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aisling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aisling guest house is located in the Historic Boston neighborhood of the South End. The South End is Boston's most varied and famous dining destination. A brisk walk or ten minute bus ride brings you downtown. Aisling is your gateway to a truly relaxing visit to Boston. Aisling means "Dream" in Gaelic. Your Irish hosts Dympna and James take pride in making you feel at home while still on a dream vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Aisling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing