We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but funcional”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basic but funcional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed two nights over thanksgiving weekend. The first room"s toilet was not working so were given another room that was larger and on the first floor. Bed was comfortable, room was clean (bedspread of first room;s bed was rather garish) with free WI-fi and free breakfast. Small room for breakfast but we wound up with a table.

Good overall value for a hotel room in the middle of Brookline, Mass.. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear loppy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and an overall good value!

We take pride in our hotel, especially the amenities offered. Free parking, wi-fi and continental breakfast are important to our customers! We are actually remodeling the hotel now and are updating the look to the lobby, breakfast room and guestrooms.

We hope to see you the next time that you visit Boston. Let us know what you think of our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    201
    123
    57
    35
See reviews for
259
89
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights while looking at colleges. The staff was very friendly and the location, although a bit far from Boston, was very convenient to the T. Unfortunately, our room was not cleaned for two out of the three days we were there. I notified the hotel desk and there was no housekeeping available after 4 p.m. to correct the situation. It was very unpleasant to have to clean my own hotel room;empty garbage cans, change the towels, make my bed and have dirty floors. In addition, the bed was very soft, the leg on the only table was off, the heat couldn't be adjusted and was uncomfortably warm and the bathroom window was broken. The management apologized and made a financial adjustment but the cost was still way more than what it should have been under the conditions we had to tolerate.

Room Tip: The part of the building we stayed in was old and not in good condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnWayne_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear DawnWayne_NewJersey,

I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at the the hotel. This sort of situation is unacceptable and I understand your frustration.

Since this review has been written, we have changed our policy of cleaning stay-over rooms. We are now personally calling the rooms that have privacy cards on the doors, to ensure that they are cleaned if desired.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just returned from a two-night stay at the Boston Best Western Terrace Inn. Our party consisted of myself, my husband and our 21 year-old daughter. We were in town to visit our son at BU over Parents Weekend.
First of all, getting ANY hotel during this weekend is 1) a challenge and 2) expensive. It is the same weekend as the Head of the Charles Regatta during which 300k people descend on the city. In addition, there were several other college events on the same weekend….all within about a 7 mile radius.
I booked the Terrace through a third-party provider – the least pleasant part of our experience, but I will save that for another review – and got a rate of $209.99 per night. Pricey for this hotel, but hey, the demand is there and it was by far the least expensive option when compared to the few others that actually had rooms. And we booked several months prior.
I cannot stress enough how unbelievably friendly and helpful the staff is at this hotel. At check-in Jing was a doll. Our reservation indicated one queen bed, and even though they were packed, he managed to get us into a room with two doubles so our daughter actually had a place to sleep. He did all of this while smiling and being genuinely friendly the entire time. It really set the tone for the entire weekend.
The hotel has a funky, LA-boutique/bungalow hotel style feel to it. A low-slung design nestled amidst a leafy residential neighborhood on the back side of Comm Ave. Whole Foods is a pleasant, quick 2 block walk through the neighborhood. The grounds are well groomed and very, very clean; even with the falling leaves, it was kept neat. As others have mentioned, the parking is free which, in Boston, can save you upwards of $50 a day.
I am a super freak for cleanliness in hotels. I know it sounds weird, but the first thing I do is turn down the comforters and check out the sheets. In this case, crisp, white and clean and passed with flying colors. Nice, full pillows and the mattresses are topped and soft. I then move into the bathroom and inspect the tub, shower and corners of the room. The Terrace shower has the higher-end bowed shower curtain rod which provides additional room and the liner was fabric; a super alternative to the cold, often moldy plastic variety. The tub was spotless and the water pressure and temp was perfect for long, hot showers. Pantene hair care products are provided along with face and body bars and a hair dryer. (A fantastic addition would be a swing-arm lighted magnifier mirror, but that’s just me.) The towels are commercially stiff, but snow white and much thicker than you might expect.
The first night in, we walked the 2.2 miles to BU West. It took about 40 minutes and we were moving, but it felt good after our 8 hour car ride. (We could have hopped the T at the Washington St. stop which is right down the block from the hotel; very, very convenient.) We felt very safe on the walk and we passed several quaint restaurants on the way. The walk back was an hour….our very own “heartbreak hill” going up that last stretch!
The breakfast is far more substantial than you might imagine and actually offered a bit of variety over the course of our 2 day stay. There is a diverse array of breads – muffins, fruited, bagels, farmhouse white and even toaster-ready French toast – and all of the condiments; fresh fruit; mini-cheese omelet’s and sausage (perfect for breakfast sandwiches); made-to-order Belgian Waffles; yogurt and hot and cold cereals; regular and caffeine-free coffee; tea; hot chocolate and orange and cranberry juice. (Add this value to the money saved with the free parking and you can see how this would impact your travel budget.) The dining room can get full depending on your time of arrival and the census, but if you cannot find a seat, simply use the provided trays to carry your food back to your room. Alicia, the dining room attendant on duty during our stay, is charming. She smiled and chatted with us all while never stopping the seemingly incessant chore of restocking and making coffee; another high mark for the stellar customer service that is obviously a standard at this hotel. (Of course, your experience will be impacted by other diners, and there were some class A jerks in there when we were having breakfast, but Alicia smiled through everything and continued to do a great job…I have no idea how they put up with some of those people…travelers, mind your doggone manners!)
There are two computers in the lobby and free Wifi. I didn’t even need to break out my netbook as I hopped on their machine to print out our BU parking pass. The gal on front desk duty – I am so mad I forgot to get her name – was beyond helpful in so many ways. She helped us print several documents and then came to check out our situation with our remote which wasn’t working. When she couldn’t get it to work, she summoned a maintenance guy – another super friendly, skilled staffer – and he had us fixed up in a few minutes. While in our room waiting, the front desk attendant filled us in on where to go and we ended up taking her advice on lunch at The Joshua Tree in Davis. (A great find for reasonably priced burgers, good service and a cool neighborhood.)
So, to wrap up, I would highly recommend the Best Western Terrace Inn in Boston. The facility itself may not be the Four Seasons, but I can tell you, I would put the level of customer service up against the best hotels I have stayed in…including the Mondrian AND several Ritz and Four Seasons locations. I am not even kidding; these folks could work at ANY of those places.
If it is any indication of how comfortable guests feel while at the Terrace, just check out how many repeat customers there are…we met multiple families in the dining room who never stay anywhere else when in Boston. People do not go back to places that are dumps or where the staff treats them poorly; no matter the price point.
Bravo to the staff and management of the Terrace. You do a fantastic job. And we will be back.

Room Tip: You may want to consider an upper level room. "Frankenstein the Door Slammer" was above u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersmomcat, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear DDinPA,
Thank you so much for the detailed review about the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston! Your words were written with care and we appreciate every detail.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the staff, location, breakfast and cleanliness. Our staff works very hard to ensure the comfort of all of guests. We are especially happy to know that you found the property to be very clean. Raking leaves is a huge challenge for us in the fall, as the hotel has many trees. I have shared your review with the entire staff.

We know that you have a choice while staying in a big city like Boston. We are thrilled that you chose the Best Western Terrace Inn and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for five nights when attending a conference in Boston.

The good things: cheap compared to other places in Boston; convenient for the T subway; area is safe; staff are friendly; free fast wifi; free breakfast (bagels, fruit, coffee, juice, cereal).

Bad things: very dated room, poorly equipped (oven but no pots or pans; coffee filters, cups and coffee but no coffee maker (and they couldn't get one for us)); room was clean but smelt musty; the T from here is extremely slow (>30 minutes to Hynes convention centre, nearly an hour to MGH or Harvard Square).

Summary: It's good value for Boston and has free parking if that's important to you. It definitely feels more like a motel than a hotel. I think next time I'd pay more and stay somewhere more central and more up to date.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerraceInn, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear MXLondon ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel location, free fast wifi; free breakfast. We are sad to hear that you did not like the room or the subway.

I have shared this review with the staff and am pleased to report that we are in the process of updating the guestrooms, lobby and breakfast area. We will continue to offer free parking and continental breakfast, as this is an important feature to many of our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, as it is a learning experience for us, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed on Boston for 3 days, really enjoyed this hotel, good breakfast, comfortable beds, clean and moderns bathrooms, really nice room with microware and coffee maker, free internet access, there is a little far away of centre Boston, but is a Train stop just 2 square away, really recommend this hotel, very warm welcome

Room Tip: Better choose higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerraceInn, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear alexuk75,

We thank you for the wonderful review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston! Our staff works very hard to make the guests happy and we appreciate your kind review. The in-room microwave and coffee maker make things easier for our travelers, as it is very convenient. We hope to see you on a future trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price range (per night): $250 - $442
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing