We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massachusetts September 2016”
Review of Carruth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carruth House
Ranked #26 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Heidi is a very welcoming and friendly host but currently the state of the exterior and interior of the building bear no resemblance to the website. There was no access to the "Great Room" and whilst there are signs of a refurbishment they seemed to have come to a halt. The private bathroom for the Ashmont Suite is a loose description and is next to the common area where the breakfast is served. The positives are parking is no problem and the T station is within an easy walk as is Adams Village.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 110 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I haves stayed at the Carruth House several times this year as we have travelled to Boston to help with family situations. I can sincerely say that the Carruth House has felt very much like home to me, having grown up in the Boston. The house is a wonderful older home filled with character. The location is a 5 minute walk to a T station and minutes to major highways. The downstairs suite has a separate sitting room and the bed is really comfortable. The Great Room, a common area, is quite a gem, with beautiful architecture and original woodworking. Heidi is a wonderful and warm host. She has extensive knowledge of the home's history. She also provides a wonderful breakfast of handmade baked goods from a local bakery and fresh organic fruit. I have no doubt I'll be back when visiting the Boston area in the future!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This B&B is a treasure! The house is a little worn and a bit unkempt, but the charm is a delight. The bed was very comfortable. The cat Ella is adorable. Coffee on the porch with breakfast was most relaxing, the food was delicious and customized to our taste. Heidie is the most amazing hostess I have ever known. She did a wonderful job of welcoming us to the Boston area, and provided all the comforts of home and family a guest could want. She engaged with us just enough to make us feel welcome, and kept her distance to give us the privacy we needed. I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit Boston!

Room Tip: Ground floor has a private entrance and welcoming porch to sit and relax on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

If you are interested in Boston history this the place for you. We enjoyed hearing the historical story of Carruth house. Heidi loves her house and neighborhood. Our suite was large, clean and very comfortable. Her breakfast consists of fresh fruit, fresh baked goods from local bakery, plus, plus. One day she even bought a Boston Cream Cake. Yummy! A three minutes walk from the T was a real plus.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carol443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

First the positives, a very kind hostess that is easy going and enjoys her role as hostess, easy walk to the subway, street parking is easy to find. Heidi is very upfront as describing the house as one in progress-true-but I would have to say the progress halted some time ago. Room and linens are clean, but too many aspects are in disrepair from ripped curtains, leaky shower, overgrown yard and so on... If you can get a bargain rate this may still be worth while, but for what we paid for only a little extra we were able to get a whole lot more.

Stayed: August 2015
4  Thank beachgoers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
South End
Chandler Studios
Chandler Studios
#15 of 37 in Boston
81 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
14 Union Park
14 Union Park
#17 of 37 in Boston
92 reviews
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carruth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carruth House

Address: 30 Beaumont St, Dorchester, Boston, MA 02124-5008
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $111 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Carruth House, built in 1877, is one of the landmark historic properties in the Ashmont section of Dorchester in Boston and overlooks one of the loveliest residential streets in the City. We are an affordable and relaxed private home guesthouse alternative to expensive and impersonal downtown accommodations. Come for a visit! We hope you enjoy Carruth House as much as we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carruth House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing