We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Little Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed here in Oct 2011. Pleasantly suprised, Beautiful room, Excellent value for money. The location is good, easy to get to tours and just a few blocks away from Boston Common. Front desk service was fine. Our room was a good size,bathroom fantastic. Nice view of some of Boston's Beautiful Buildings. Would recommend this hotel and would also stay here next time I visit Boston.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekjm_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your comments about your visit with us. We hope to see you again this October at Hotel 140!

Sincerely,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    831
    311
    110
    68
See reviews for
361
800
209
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I must say, the hotel is in a great location!! My husband and I stayed 2 nights while in town to go to a baseball game/explore the city. It was a short walk 2the 'T' and nearby attractions. Check-in was a bit disorganized, and no one at the front desk could really recommend anything useful/didnt know/wasnt from there/wasnt sure... It was a bit odd. They told us we had been upgraded to a Queen, but definitely werent, which again, was very odd. The room was SMALL, which is too be expected. The floor/carpet was sticky - it was so gross, I wore flip flops in the room. The rooms were so small and close together, you could hear every whisper from the hallway, every door close, and even the neighbors toliets flushing. It was a rough nights sleep. The location makes up for it, but I am not sure I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevett, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

A couple of days prior to arriving at Hotel 140, I posted a comment on the their Facebook page indicating we were really excited about staying at the hotel, seeing a Red Sox game that night and celebrate my husband's birthday. When we checked in and made our way to our room, we were filled with surprised when we opened the door to our room. There was a beautiful made table with linens and china. They left a birthday cake with balloons and a 140 baseball on each plate. They surely went the extra mile just from a comment I made on their FB page!!!

The room was beautiful, modern and very clean. The staff was wonderful! Very gracious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is making their way to Boston. The Back Bay is beautiful and everything is pretty much within walking distance. The price was awesome as well!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Hello Katherine,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor about your visit! We are delighted you enjoyed the great location of Hotel 140 as well as the clean, contemporary, and comfortable guest rooms. It tickled our entire staff to be able to surprise you and your husband; we always appreciate extra information from our incoming guests. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Hotel 140 soon.

Sincerely,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2012. We arrived in the evening to a warm and friendly welcome from the lady on reception, and advised that we had been upgraded from our superior double room to a King room on the 8th floor - great! The room itself was spacious in the walkway from the door to the bed, but there was little room to move around the bed and no storage space for clothes apart from an open wardrobe, which was a bit of an irritation as a 4 night stay is quite long, however we made do as we could lie our suitcases down and keep them open in the corridor from our bedroom door to the bed without them getting in the way too much. The room was kept nice and clean by our maid every day, and bed linen/towels changed on a daily basis too. Our room had two big windows overlooking the street, which made the room airy and light. There was also air conditioning in the room which may have been too noisy to sleep with it on so we kept the windows open overnight - thankfully the weather wasn't overly warm anyway so we didn't have much need for A/C. I was however disappointed that there wasn't a safe in the room, even if you had the option to pay. When you are travelling with cash and passports, you want to be able to lock your valuables away. We had to get by with locking our passports and money in our suitcase every day, a hassle which you don't really want and not exactly secure.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, very close to Back Bay station and within walking distance of other major attractions and some restaurants, Copley Square etc. Boston as a whole is very pedestrian friendly, you could pretty much walk anywhere if you have plenty of time and some comfortable shoes. Overall, its a great place to stay for the budget-conscious traveller. The hotel itself was in a quiet, safe location, the staff very friendly and helpful (the lady on reception helped us with ordering some pizza for delivery once we had returned from seeing a show in the evening) and the room clean. Very good value for money overall, and would definitely stay here again if returning to Boston.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012 and it was a great experience. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, the lobby was clean and comfortable, and even though the room was on the smaller side, we had a king bed and great street views. The hotel is walking distance to some awesome restaurants, many historical sites, and a $7 cab ride to kenmore square / fenway. The front desk offered us great restaurant / night life suggestions and helped us in planning our sight-seeing. Compared to some other hotels in the back bay area, the price was just right. All-in-all, I give this hotel 4.5 out of 5!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmhouseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear JMHouseman,

Thank you for your great comments. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $359 - $649
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing