We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value, terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor value, terrible service”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We booked this "Boutique Hotel" as a 3 star on Hotwire. Really it is a slightly upscaled YWCA (really, sign is on the building). Many of the floors are still residential hotel and you need to insert your key to even get to your floor on the elevator-presumably because of security concerns. The front desk (staffed by the manager!) was incredibly rude. Charged $50 to my credit card to hold for "incidentals" without asking first. When questioned, response was "all hotels do that"...then sent us to dark, tiny room with 2 twin beds (we were obviously a married couple). Return to front desk, sent to brighter, still very small, room with queen bed. Could not imagine what "incidentals" in this extremely basic room would add up to $50, as there was nothing to use up or buy. They do have free internet, which I used to contact Hotwire, who was very helpful, gave an instant full refund and allowed us to book a much better, slightly more expensive hotel nearby. Not boutique, not 3 star--very poor quality for price, stay away!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear JTravelor50,

Thank you for your candid remarks recently posted. I am sorry that we were not the right fit for your visit to Boston. Just to clarify for you, our 3-Star Ranking is not self-assigned, but designated by third party travel experts. Although we are not a YWCA any longer, we are very proud of our heritage of being constructed as the first "Y" in the country in 1929. We do not actually have any hotel rooms with twin size beds, so I can see that you were assigned to a Deluxe Guest room with two full beds. Our front-office manager let me know when you checked in that you were unhappy with the $50 security hold on your credit card, but I can assure you that this is common hotel procedure.

I am glad that you recognized the value of using hotel keys to access the elevators. Many of our guests greatly appreciate this added security measure. I am also glad that you were able to find a more suitable fit to your travel needs, as it is always our greatest hope that you enjoy your travels.

Sincerely,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    829
    310
    110
    68
See reviews for
359
798
209
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have no complaints as I paid less than half the price of an average hotel in Boston, but I only stayed there for a night (we arrived late at night and checked out early in the morning); can´t imagine what I would be to stay there more than 2 nights for example.
The room was clean and cozy but too small and everything fitted like a puzzle.
There is no breakfast.
The location was the best part. Great great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maiafridman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Only stayed one night, but I'd definitely return in the future! Clean, great price, close to downtown and public transit. I really liked that it was in a well cared-for heritage building, had unique rooms with mini-fridge, wonderful Tarocco soap & shampoo, and attentive staff.

Room Tip: I personally like higher rooms in order to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selene_Canada2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Selene,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Hotel 140. Thank you especially for mentioning our new Tarocco products, as we are very excited to now provide these specialty bath products from Italy for our guests. We explored many options before carefully selecting one that we love. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed this (all important) detail of your visit!

Sincerely,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I booked a room at Hotel 140 for our anniversary celebration and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised. Not only was the hotel easy to find (get off the T at the Back Bay station, turn left and there you are) , it was also in an excellent location. It is just a short walk to many restaurants and also to Copley Place shopping. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Wi-fi worked fine. We did eat breakfast almost every morning at the Stuart Street Grill located in the hotel and it was very good and inexpensive. Other reviews mentioned the walls being thin -although the hotel was full we really did not notice any noise. If and when we ever return to Boston I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiernc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Angie,

Happy Anniversary! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Boston for this special event and delighted you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for posting the lovely room photos! We hope you join us again for your future travels North to Boston.

Warmest Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Property was clean, super close to the subway. Helpful staff. It was quiet. Stayed during the week. Price was average, lower than some of the area hotels though. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirt1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Guest Relations at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments! It always pleases us to hear our guests positive feedback. We do take great pride in being a boutique hotel in the heart of Back Bay Boston with intelligent pricing and enthusiastic staff. We look forward to your future visits with us here at Hotel 140!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
940 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
623 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
661 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $355 - $644
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing