We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 140
Nearby Hotels
USD 297*
USD 272*
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 354*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 388*
USD 340*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
USD 334*
USD 298*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
USD 228*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 325*
USD 262*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Onyx Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
USD 266*
USD 220*
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 223*
USD 197*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 407*
USD 339*
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 342*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,193)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveller rating
748
886
353
133
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
886
353
133
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopley squaregreat locationback bay stationflour bakeryrooms are smallorange linewithin walking distancestay there againtrinity churchboylston streetparking garagesubway stationcoffee makersouth endnewbury stfew blocksvisiting boston
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,656 - 1,661 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have no complaints as I paid less than half the price of an average hotel in Boston, but I only stayed there for a night (we arrived late at night and checked out early in the morning); can´t imagine what I would be to stay there more than 2 nights for example.
The room was clean and cozy but too small and everything fitted like a puzzle.
There is no breakfast.
The location was the best part. Great great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiafridman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Only stayed one night, but I'd definitely return in the future! Clean, great price, close to downtown and public transit. I really liked that it was in a well cared-for heritage building, had unique rooms with mini-fridge, wonderful Tarocco soap & shampoo, and attentive staff.

Room Tip: I personally like higher rooms in order to get a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selene_Canada2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Selene,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Hotel 140. Thank you especially for mentioning our new Tarocco products, as we are very excited to now provide these specialty bath products from Italy for our guests. We explored many options before carefully selecting one that we love. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed this (all important) detail of your visit!

Sincerely,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I booked a room at Hotel 140 for our anniversary celebration and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised. Not only was the hotel easy to find (get off the T at the Back Bay station, turn left and there you are) , it was also in an excellent location. It is just a short walk to many restaurants and also to Copley Place shopping. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Wi-fi worked fine. We did eat breakfast almost every morning at the Stuart Street Grill located in the hotel and it was very good and inexpensive. Other reviews mentioned the walls being thin -although the hotel was full we really did not notice any noise. If and when we ever return to Boston I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiernc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Angie,

Happy Anniversary! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Boston for this special event and delighted you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for posting the lovely room photos! We hope you join us again for your future travels North to Boston.

Warmest Regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Property was clean, super close to the subway. Helpful staff. It was quiet. Stayed during the week. Price was average, lower than some of the area hotels though. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirt1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Guest Relations at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments! It always pleases us to hear our guests positive feedback. We do take great pride in being a boutique hotel in the heart of Back Bay Boston with intelligent pricing and enthusiastic staff. We look forward to your future visits with us here at Hotel 140!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

With all the services of a big, expensive hotel, the Hotel 140 offers clean, well-designed rooms with everything but glitz and size. The rooms are small, more like a friend's spare bedroom than the acreage you pay so much for in the big fancy chain hotels. I liked it and will definitely return on more trips to Boston. Close to two MTA stops, right beside Boston Public Library and Copley Place shopping area, plus all the BackBay shops. Also, security was excellent, with key-card-only access to the upper floors, making for a safe, relaxed night's sleep for this single woman.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, Front Office Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor about Hotel 140. We appreciate you sharing with future travelors some of our great features such as the prime location and added security with key-operated elevators for our guests. We do continue to refresh and renovate our pristine, history rich building and it thrills us that you enjoyed many of our updated features.

We look forward to your future visits.

Sincerely,
Stephanie M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews