We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 140
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The location was the best part about the hotel. It was a block from the T and within walking distance to most of downtown Boston. The room was clean and the staff friendly. The room wasn't huge and the bathroom was very small, but we didn't spend much time in either! I'd highly recommend this hotel and would consider staying there again if I came back to Boston.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 961Jane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    831
    311
    110
    68
See reviews for
361
799
209
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

There were some shady characters hanging about. Seemed like some were living there?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceinEastWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I usually don't write reviews. This time, I decided to do so. I was impressed and happy with my stay at Hotel 140. I had to attend a conference at Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel which is 3 minutes walk away. I found the room at Hotel 140 very clean, quiet and enjoyable for a much lower price. I am glad I found the hotel. The Hotel staff were very helpful. I recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efrem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Efram G.,

Thank you for your comments. It thrills us to hear you were impressed and happy with your visit and the staff here at Hotel 140. We look forward to hosting your future travels to Boston.

Sincerely,
Emily A.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Double room for less than 200 bucks. Walking distance to Copley Plaza, next door to back bay station and the T. Pleasant staff, a cheap diner downstairs for breakfast, free wifi. Nothing fancy but a great deal for downtown Boston.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidOrtiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hello David,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Hotel 140. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are especially proud to still provide free wi-fi when many hotels are still charging for this service.

Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel 140 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed overnight at this hotel before my flight back to the UK. The location is excellent - it is within walking distance of the main attractions of Boston and just steps from Back Bay station which has MBTA and commuter train links.

I was pleased with everything about the hotel apart from one minor encounter. When I went back to collect my luggage I think I must have encountered the same front desk guy as the previous reviewer because, in contrast to the other lovely staff at the hotel, he wasn't a particularly good advert for the hotel. He was dealing with another customer, fair enough, but when I approached the desk, and waited, and waited - he didn't even acknowledge me. Evenutally he did ask if anyone was helping me and said he would be with me shortly. But when he finished with the other customer he answered the phone and had a long conversation leaving me still waiting. It's a shame really, because until then I had been absolutely delighted with everything about the hotel and in particular the lovely staff.

I think I spoke to 3 ladies at the front desk during my stay for check in, directions and then to leave my luggage. All 3 were very helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough to help.They stored my luggage on my check out day while I went sightseeing in Boston which was much appreciated - they had a ticket system which was very efficient and indicates that they do this routinely which is an excellent service.

The room was small but there was only me in it and it was clean, comfortable and everything worked. The security is very high - you need to use a room key to use the lift - something which I think is important in a city hotel and which I found reassuring. The hotel's wifi is complimentary and I got a good signal in my room and in the lobby.The hotel is also non-smoking throughout which I appreciated as a non-smoker.

The hotel has character as an older building which has been refurbished but I think that's a positive thing. So overall, I would recommend Hotel 140 and I'll stay there again next time I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston-Hotel140, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Angela,

Hello and thank you for your detailed review of your visit with Hotel 140. I am so delighted to hear that you were able to explore Back Bay and Boston with us as your landing point each day. Our location and close proximity to both public transportation and outstanding tourists’ attraction is a wonderful feature. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the mixture of 'old world charm' with updated features and amenities. We are so proud of the historic heritage of our building.

Thank you for your comments on the pleasant staff members you encountered as well as your observations of a staff member that would benefit from additional training. The hospitality profession certainly requires the ability to multi-task as there can often be many guests to attend to quickly and sporadically. We are always excited to help improve the passionate dedication to these skills amongst our team.

Please feel free to reach out to me personally on your next visit to Boston. We look forward to accommodating you.

Cheers,
Emily A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Property: Hotel 140
Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $357 - $643
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing