We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG, and still drooling”
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
Ranked #11 of 3,231 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: North End
Rock Hill, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OMG, and still drooling”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

By far, my favorite restaurant on our whole Boston trip! We are so happy we found Neptune Oyster House. The staff was so friendly. There was about an hour wait for a place at the bar and they generously took our phone number and called us as soon as a place was available. Nice touch. And the food.....I can't say enough about it. We had the fried clams (absolutely the best I ever ate!) and the buttered lobster roll. It was plenty to split and the bartender was a joy, adding to out wonderful experience. Go, run, do whatever it takes, but plan to wait. I have a bathroom bigger than this place. You won't be sorry! YUMMO!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sccheeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    322
    104
    33
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Culiacan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of Boston, one of my favorites over all!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Neptune Oyster is, by far, one of my favorites restaurants of US. I've lived in Boston for a couple of months and Have tasted several restaurants around the city, this was my favorite pick. DELICIOUS food, great small place, it is a wonderful experience because is not like every other restaurant in the US. You cannot make reservations, you have to go there and wait in the list, while the waiting you can walk around the Italian neighborhood which is also great, please don't miss this place just because of the waiting time, is worth it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank imazmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, KS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait..”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We experienced many wonderful meals in our recent trip to Boston but Neptune's Oyster was a head and shoulders above the rest. Everything about it was simply superb. Our oysters were perfect. The made to order clam chowder (that's right, made to order) nearly made my husband and I cry and we have discernable tastes. The seared scallops and roasted brussel sprouts entree was the perfect ending to our meal.
The 1+ hour was well worth the wait and even enjoyable considering the restaurant is nestled within Boston's most historic area. Don't miss this one, it was the culinary highlight of an amazing trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaRaeRewalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO THERE”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

As a restaurant columnist in Montreal, I was quite anxious to experience local fare and was drawn to the Neptune Oyster Bar although I suspected it could be a little touristy. I was right... line-ups and a first come first served basis. Up to that point, I was definitely prepared to live with that but before talking the 1.2 mile walk to get there, our hotel desk Manager called to make sure they were still taking walk-ins. Once confirmed, we went on our way talking a nice walk through town over to Salem Street in Little Italy. When we arrived, there were, as expected, a few people waiting. When the hostess walked up to us, she told us they were no longer taking guests. We explained the hotel had just called and she implied we were lying just to get in. I have rarely encountered such rude and disrespectful restaurant staff. We tried to appeal to their better nature but their arrogance at being above having to please customers because their notoriety gave then the right to treat potential customers like something they would have scraped off the bottom of their shoe was clearly part of the restaurant's culture. Check out my review of the other restaurants we ate in during our stay... much better bets, less tourists and courteous service. I would not give these people the time of day as there are much better places in Boston to eat in and receive the level of service you should expect from restaurateurs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawnmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“wonderful oysters”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We always come to Neptunes during our trips to Boston. Love the Oysters. Always so fresh. We also share a lobster roll. This year I was surprised about the amount of butter on the roll. There was so much butter that my husband didn't even really do more than pick at his half. More for me but it was even a little bit much for me. This is a very small place and the only problem you may run into is if the people next to you have some tired children. One couple actually got up and left because the baby next to them was crying.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing