We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We booked the wrong hotel. It was our fault, not Marriott. It was for a work-type retreat for 8 women and we meant to be in the Seaport, at the other Residence Inn. Apparently this happens frequently as there are several Marriotts in Boston. When I went to the wrong one first, they corrected me with several other addresses to choose from. This particular Residence Inn is in what I would call the parking lot of the Navy yard next to the USS Constitution in what locals would call Charlestown, even though it has a Boston address. There is a nice coffee shop/bakery, Sorelle in the building across the street and a pub around the corner, but other nearby amenities were bleak. Walking across the bridge to the North End was an option if it wasn't freezing rain. It is not near public transit. Complaints about the wrong location aside (again, our fault not theirs), the hotel is adequate. It seems older and tired and perfect if I was with my family in a suburban rural location and just needed a bed to sleep on to to be near a particular location. I was surprised at the high price of our room for how basic it was and with only view of the back parking lot. I know the same priced room was available at the kind of hotels that have bellmen, and a lobby bar and a more modern decor in the heart of town - tho possibly not with a kitchenette (we did not need). That said, the staff was very accommodating, and the breakfast was as good as any Residence Inn. It was clean. The bed was not the best Marriott bed, but I slept fine. If you have reason to be at this particular location, there is no reason not to stay there. But if you do, just be sure to shop around and at least note the addresses when booking.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Slymoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

We would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your detailed review. We consistently strive to ensure that our guests’ needs and expectations are met and regret that we have let you down in a few areas. I will certainly pass your comments along to the rest of the management team so that we may look into and further address any concerns. We would like another opportunity to regain your trust and hope you will allow us another chance to provide you with an excellent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

The room was very spacious, and clean. The hotel employees were extremely helpful.
The breakfast had a lot of options, was a quick walk to the Td Garden with excellent restaurant within walking distance also

Room Tip: Had pull out couch for extra quests
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you, Robert, for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations, breakfast and our staff’s hospitality. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This was our first trip to Boston and we really loved this hotel. On family trips, we really need 2 beds plus a fold-out sofa or a hotel that will bring in a roll-away bed. This was the only hotel that fulfilled those requirements under $500. The price was a little high, but it did meet our requirements, and the location was wonderful! In one direction, walk to the USS Constitution, in the other direction, it is an easy walk to little Italy. So, we were very happy with the stay and the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank truevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

We are delighted to hear that our accommodations fit your needs perfectly. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments, we are glad you were happy with your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome to the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for my 50th Birthday and had a great surprise in our room. There was some beer, wine and snacks waiting for us. Lisa S at the front desk was awesome got us in early and upgraded us to suite !! We had a great view of the harbor, Old Ironsides and the Bunker Hill Monument. This Residence Inn is within walking distance to the TD Garden, the North End and Charlestown. Parking was reasonable and the staff at the hotel was very friendly. The room was great and clean !! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it if you want to walk your way around Boston or you can get to the T at North Station at the TD Garden. And the Residence Inn is located on the Freedom Trail !! A Great Marriott property comes they again !!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

We are grateful you chose the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf to celebrate your 50th birthday, it was great to have you here. We are pleased you enjoyed your suite accommodations and the special touches our staff provided. Thank you for commenting on your stay and for your high recommendation to other travelers. We can't wait to welcome you through our doors again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Very friendly , great service , complimentary hot breakfast is second to none. Love the security aspect of the key needed to use the elevator. Room was perfect size, very clean and very quiet , will definitely stay again on my next visit.

Room Tip: great view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grifforr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTudorWhf, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your positive comments and recommendation to other travelers, it means a great deal to us. We are delighted you had a lovely stay and appreciate the services we offer here. All of us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 86 in Boston
1,124 reviews
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#30 of 86 in Boston
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf

Address: 34 Charles River Ave # 44, Boston, MA 02129-2005
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#20 Business Hotel in Boston
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $230 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boston's rich history is right outside your door when you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor. Our hotel offers a choice of studio, one or two bedroom suites, with amazing views of Boston Harbor views and beautiful interior decor. Unique amongst Boston extended stay hotels, our pet-friendly hotel offers a stylish retreat at a substantial value; free wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet and evening socials Monday through Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Residence Inn Boston Harbor On Tudor Wharf Hotel Boston
Residence Inn Boston
Marriott Boston
Boston Residence Inn
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing