We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
728
92
10
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
92
10
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews albee room south end b and b robbins room other guests german fitness bread sticky buns tremont street boiled eggs flour bakery breakfast is served each morning top floor within walking distance the breakfast area yogurt back bay station
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

I stayed in the Robbins room during my time at Encore and I was pleasantly surprised by how spacious the room and bathroom were. The b&b is located in the most charming and peaceful part of Boston within walking distance of plenty of activities and restaurants. David was a wonderful host and made breakfast a very comfortable experience. Already working on going back to Boston and staying there again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksalg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Manager at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Guest. Thank you for your wonderful review - we especially love your remarks about the spacious Robbins room and David especially likes to hear that he is a wonderful host, especially since he isn't a real morning person. We hope to see you again sometime in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed in the Albee room (top floor with a beautiful view) on a very snowy weekend. Waking up to the morning light over snowy rooftops was my favorite part. It was a peaceful retreat from the city, in a convenient location (a few minutes walk to Back Bay Station or Copley Place), and close to a lot of great restaurants. David and Reinhold were very nice and hospitable, and the breakfast was delicious (pastries from a local bakery, fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, and cheese/ meat if you want it). I have worked in a bakery and this was one of the best scones I have ever had. Also definitely ask for restaurant recommendations, they know all the places and sent us to a fantastic spot for dinner called SRV (Venetian small plates).

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 652malis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhold M, Manager at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Guests. You are one of the few people that must like the winter landscape - we, living in a city that sometimes get's too much snow are not as fond of it, especially when the outdoor deck of your room gets filled with snow like a bathtub. Credit for the breakfast should go to the Flour bakery - there is a reason they received a Beard Award. Thank you again for your comments and please consider to stay with us again, when you come back to town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed at the Encore for 4 nights. It is expensive but the location is good. We were in the Albee room. The Innkeepers were pleasant enough but the feel of the place wasn't good. There was mould in the bathroom but otherwise clean. I did not like the note on the side table, with an envelope that said the the US is not like Europe and that service fees are not included in the room rate. This was asking for a tip for the cleaners. So what are they saying? The only service is the cleaning of the room so doesn't the cleaner get paid at all. Aren't the cleaning charges included? The booking paperwork states 'there are no hidden taxes'. The Innkeepers need to pay the staff properly and not ask the customers to pay again.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinholdm629, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Thank you for leaving a very helpful review. We are sorry that wording on our Welcome sheet caused confusion. There definitely was a misunderstanding of the wording and intent of the note. Our housekeeping staff is paid for their work at Encore (more than twice the minimum wage). However, it is customary in the US to tip the housekeeping staff at hotels and Bed & Breakfasts and staff appreciates when their work gets acknowledged. The US tipping culture is foreign to many Europeans and other travelers, so we include the note that tips or gratuities for the housekeeping staff are welcomed and encouraged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We loved this B and B. Ideal location to explore Boston. Lots of lovely restaurants and bars nearby. Room was lovely and extremely comfortable, great shower and really comfy bed! Lots to choose from with the breakfast on offer.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Whenever I visit Boston, I am happy to spend a night or two -- this time, three! -- at Encore Bed and Breakfast. The location is wonderful, the beds are very comfy and the location, a charming brownstone just a few nice blocks from Copley Square, Boston Public Library and Boston Common, is excellent. Breakfast is continental but with much variety -- guests select from a generous list of breads, pastries, cold cuts, granola, etc, when we arrive. Hosts David and Reinhold have it ready and waiting at the appointed time the following morning. The sticky bun was exquisite, but then, so was the lemon ginger scone...It`s a very nice, place, wonderful showers, TV and Wi-Fi.

Room tip: Rooms in the front face the pretty brownstones across the street.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank montrealpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews