We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveller rating
361
568
286
160
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
568
286
160
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle servicefree shuttlemedical centerthe breakfast areabreakfast stafffree breakfastmass avehotel shuttlefront desk stafflight sleeperliving roomsitting areayogurtthe hotel offerscoffee makerpublic transportationfenway park
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

This hotel is clean and a historic building. It is up to date. I booked this hotel because it had FREE parking. They offer a shuttle service on a schedule. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from 2 different subway stops, but the location is not the greatest. The area is very noisy! It does offer complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Suite hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Kelly,
We always appreciate hearing from our guests. It's great to know that our clean, modern rooms were just what you were looking for and that you appreciated the free parking and shuttle. However, we're sorry for any noise disruption you experienced, and we'll consider how to minimize this in the future. Should your adventures bring you back to the city, we hope you'll come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

STAY FAR FAR AWAY! Junkies shooting up, smoking crack, drugs being sold, fighting, prostitution, public urination all happening right outside our window. Hotel staff and security is doing NOTHING!! Will not refund us a penny. Paid for 2 nights but leaving after 1. Will have to pay for another hotel sadly. Holiday Inn Express has graciously offered us a room for 7am check in because they can not believe our experience we are having.
When I tell you to run far away from this place I mean it ugh. Our wired smoke detector keeps beeping and nothing being done about this either. What an absolute joke!!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Patty,
We always welcome feedback from our guests, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. While we do not have control of everything that happens in our surrounding neighborhood we do work very hard to ensure the safety of our facilities, which is why we maintain a security guard onsite every night. In addition, we apologize for any troubles you had with your smoke detector, and we will have our maintenance staff address this promptly. Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we wish you all the best on the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Do not stay here!! The worst hotel experience we have ever had, hands down.
Cons: This is in Dorchester, not Boston. For those who are unfamiliar with the area, as one would assume someone staying in a hotel would be, this is a very bad area! Other reviews had mentioned some homeless in the area, which made me imagine one or two people on street corners with signs since this is right next to a large roadway in a large city. Nope! There is a huge homeless community literally outside the hotel with hookers and drug dealers. There is a camp of 30 to 50 homeless right across the street behind the gas station (which faces the hotel entrance). We witnessed an overdose across the street shortly after checking in, we were badgered for money by the homeless when leaving the hotel, and had to park across the street in a standalone lot (in a sketchy neighborhood). The staff had trouble finding our reservations at check in also. There is a no smoking policy, yet the elevator lobby and our room smell of stale smoke, then we found a cigarette butt in our room on the gross, stained carpet. The A/C stopped working for a while on our second day which was a 95 degree day with high humidity. The entrance has inconsistent flooring that I tripped on multiple times when entering and exiting the hotel. One of the times we left the hotel, an Uber driver told us that this area is a 9 out of 10 on the danger scale, we witnessed a hooker performing oral sex on someone in front of the hotel one morning, and was greeted by a drug dealer upon return. There is a big police presence partly because their station is a block away, but they do nothing to stop the problems in this area. Someone mentioned there is also a methadone clinic nearby which is why these type of people hang around. There is a hospital nearby so there are sirens all day and night for which they supply earplugs on your nightstand.
Pros: The bathroom mirror had excellent lighting, and the bed was decently comfortable. It's a 5-10 minute drive to actual Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Laura,
Thank you for notifying us about your recent visit, we appreciate each and every review that we receive. We're pleased to see that we were able to provide you with a comfortable bed and excellent lighting in the bathroom. We're very sorry that you didn't care for our location and apologize for any concerns you had. We have a security guard on site every night from 11pm to 7am and video cameras in our lobby and entrance way. Thank you for your comments, we'd be truly grateful for another chance to do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms were bright and seemed recently renovated. Very comfortable bed! Good lighting. Hotel location is kind of sketchy but was somewhat central so super easy to Uber almost everywhere (downtown and Fenway) in about 10 minutes for about $10. I walked to the grocery store in about five minutes. There’s a liquor mart in the grocery store. Target just past that. Gas station right beside the hotel with light snacks and drinks.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cam_C0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Cam,
We were happy to provide you with a clean, bright place to stay during your trip. It's great to hear that our central location was convenient for your needs and that you had a comfortable night's sleep. Should your travels bring you back to the city, we'd be proud to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Given the wrong room at first, another guest let himself into the room we were given whilst my daughter was undressing. We then had to gather all our luggage and move to another room, no apology. On returning home and checking my bank statement, we had then been charged $150. When I eventually got through to Best Western not the hotel direct as they never responded to my e mails. The reason given was that someone had smoked in the room? No evidence given just that there was a smell of smoke. The company wound not intervene as it was at the discretion of the hotel manager.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dawn732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Dawn,
Thank you for contacting us about your recent visit, we take all feedback very seriously and are constantly seeking to improve. We're very sorry about your frustration regarding the room charge; please feel free to give us another call so we can speak further. We appreciate the chance to be your host and hope you're having a pleasant week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews