We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great B&B in a lovely Boston neighbourhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really great B&B in a lovely Boston neighbourhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Somewhat oddly I ended up staying at the Gilded Lily while in Boston for business. While I would not necessarily recommend it of this (there are many accommodations closer to downtown Boston), it is a gorgeous B&B with spacious rooms, en suite bathrooms and kitchens (shared one per two rooms). It is located in South End, which is a really nice residential neighbourhood close-ish to all the action - if you're a walker that is. Via public transit or a car/cab it takes no time at all to get there.

I would absolutely recommend the Gilded Lily for holidaymakers - particularly families as you can connect two rooms via the kitchen. A small thing to note - you will likely not meet the owners unless you go looking for them in their office, which is round the back of the building. Not a problem for me at all, especially as they provide you with all the info you need in advance, but worth being aware of if you like personalised service. It is also not the cheapest place in the world, but visitors to Boston seem to generally be hamstrung by a $200 per night minimum for most accommodation, so with that in mind it is a good deal - particularly considering what you get!

Room Tip: Garden and Parlour rooms are located one per floor, so if you want two rooms next to each other you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    43
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
185
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
539 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed in the Guilded Lilly for 3 nights in October. The first night was in the top floor Garden room before moving into the 1st floor Parlour room for the next 2 nights. Both rooms were great and the whole building was beautiful and in a really great location for walking. On the top floor the shared kitchen is separate from the two rooms, which I liked – on the 1st floor the kitchen is a thin corridor between the two rooms which I didn’t really like as a location but it wasn’t a major problem. Breakfast basics are available there to make a good breakfast for yourself.

The running of the place is very clinical but efficient – all the codes are electronic key pads and you’ll have your own code ahead of arrival; I really liked this as it meant no carrying keys round all day. On arrival other information is laid out for you in a letter; it felt a little cold at first but the manager/owner is always around and when we did meet him (and his little dog) he was very helpful and friendly – it was nice to be given the choice as a guest if you wanted interaction or not!

Great location, lovely rooms really well designed – great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Gilded Lily is perfectly located for a trip to Boston, close to the subway system and within walking distance of many attractions such as The Huntington Theatre, Symphony Hall and Newberry Street. It is very comfortable and very clean. Indeed, except that there was no new paint smell, I'd almost swear it had been repainted for our visit. However, if you're looking for interaction with a genial host or hostess, this is not the place, as it is entirely do-it-yourself. You are emailed a code specific to you for the front door and your room door, and the breakfast is provided anonymously in a kitchen you share with the adjacent room (which was unoccupied while we were there). The room is well furnished and attractive but not particularly charming; it is more like a well-appointed hotel room. My wife liked the do-it-yourself kitchen because she could have her coffee in the morning without getting dressed. I prefer more of a Breakfast, rather than cold cereal, soft bagels, and yogurt, but it was certainly adequate for our needs. If you have any trouble with stairs (or vertigo for that matter), this is not the place for you. There are 14 steep steps up to the front door and the final step at the door itself where you have to enter the code is no wider than any other. Once inside, it is at least another flight of stairs to your room and perhaps two. There is much to recommend about the Gilded Lily and the price seems quite reasonable. Still, I might experiment with other B&Bs on another trip.

Room Tip: The Gilded Lily is on a dead end street so there is virtually no traffic. Either room, garden of pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Quilp328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gilded Lily. It was serene and lovely to stay in an apartment-like setting in a brownstone. Everything was in walking distance. The breakfast could have been more impressive, but everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faith155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

What a fantastic little B&B, surrounded by residential Boston, located well within a reasonable walking distance to downtown. Coffee shops and picturesque parks, old buildings and general New England charm jump out at you on every corner.

The rooms are clean, well-furnished (with New England charm) and are currently home to my wife and I for the next few chilly days in Boston.

Booking online went without a hitch and James (Innkeeper) was very prompt to respond to questions via email. Free Wi-Fi and a well-stocked fridge already have me thinking about a return trip to Boston.

Trick to the shower - keep turning the handle to get to the hot water. Once you've worked it out, it is heaven on a New England winter.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price range (per night): $219 - $318
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing