We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at the Lenox for three nights and was very pleased with the service and room. The location provides great access to the "T" (Copley Station) and there are many restaurants very close. All this is fairly routine though with a hotel of this level. Where they really showed what they were made of is the day of the blackout. There was a fire in the BackBay which caused the power grid to fail for a large radius around the Prudential Center. The staff at the Lenox quickly sprang into action. They ensured that all the guests needs were taken care of and made sure that everyone had water and snacks. The rooms were without power, but it was night time and I got a good nights rest. The next morning the staff made sure I had breakfast to go on my way out, awesome! I mentioned the fire that caused the outage...well I was at a local tavern when they evacuated and I left my jacket behind. This was the first gift my wife gave me after we were married and was very special. I mentioned this to the staff at the Lenox and after I left town they sent a runner to retrieve my jacket allowing a friend of mine to pick it up a day later. I will make the Lenox a regular place to stay when business or pleasure brings me to Boston. I know that no matter what happens the staff will ensure that I have a great experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    650
    130
    52
    22
See reviews for
874
1,218
167
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Chose to spend 4 nights of a family vacation at the Lenox, based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Never have we been treated so well in any hotel. As another reviewer posted, everyone, from front desk, to concierge, to housekeeping, was extremely friendly and welcoming. What made this even more evident was that we were in the hotel during the recent power outage, and the way that the staff dealt with this difficult situation highlighted their professionalism and determination to make sure that our stay remained as positive as possible, under the circumstances. They secured a generator ASAP, offered all guests a complimentary breakfast on the morning after the power went out, and ensured that we got reservations and transportation to a great restaurant to replace the ones that had to be cancelled. We cannot say enough about this hotel and its staff - we were treated like royalty. Kudos to both staff and management, and we would not recommend any other "home base" while staying in Boston.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delphi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whately, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was pleasantly surprised that the least expensive hotel in the Copley Square area was this nice. I booked it simply because it was less expensive than a conference rate at the Westin a few blocks over where I would be attending a conference. It was a comfortable room with a spacious king sized bed. The bathroom was a little small, but it may have only seemed so in comparison to the bed and room. Reception was very helpful and I had a delicious beer and "crispy fried calimari" at Solas on the first floor at the bar. My only complaint was that the bed was a bit hard for my taste, but everyone is different when it comes to bed comfort. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just returned from a weekend in Boston with my wife and teenage son. The location next to the Prudential Centre, Newbury Street and Copley Place shopping is excellent. The room (714) was a spacious room with a decorative fireplace, all the normal amenities and very comfortable in every respect. However, the reason to stay here is a staff that has embraced service to a level that I had associated only with the very finest hotels and at a much higher price point. In fact, their version of service may be better because it was delivered in a very friendly and casual New England way. I would be reluctant to single any individual out because the fact is that from the valet parking, the front desk, the concierge, the bellman and the housekeeping staff there was a consistent message that they were anxious to make our stay as pleasant as possible and to be helpful. I can't think of any request for assistance or special consideration which wasn't handled beyond my reasonable expectation. Whatever management is doing here, they are doing it right. This is truly a team effort.

We are frequent vistors to this area and chose the Lenox on a whim and the good reports from others. We will not stay anywhere else from now on. It was that good!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojito82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in the jr suite and they were perfect. The staff was amazing and took care of our every need. The location was ideal for walking around and shopping. Also we ate at Sonsies on Newbury Street and the food was amazing. Will stay here on all my trips to Boston and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattandmel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $385 - $864
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing