We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay only if you're at a TD Boston Garden Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stay only if you're at a TD Boston Garden Venue”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

If you're looking for a good vacation or business hotel in Boston, stay elsewhere. If you're attending an event at TD (Boston) Garden or if you've had a bit too much "fun" after an event at the Garden, then this might be the place for you. We found the venue to be in serious need of maintenance, from broken lamps and window shades in our room, to computers and printers in the business center. True, it is very conveniently located to TD Boston Garden and North Station, both of which are directly across the street. And true, it is located in the center of many sports pubs and bars which are great post-game hangouts. And just as true, this is what makes is a bad location for visiting, vacation or business. The rooms are either not sound proofed or poorly done, so that you can hear all the street noise post-game and then again when the bars close. And then there are the 3:30 a.m. garbage and street cleaning trucks. The staff was largely unattentive to guests, but VERY plugged in to their own phones, tablets and listening devices.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room away from Friend Street, which is a main "party street"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deland22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us. I apologize that you experienced some noise and maintenance related issues. I can assure you that this is not the normal procedure and I will look into this immediately with my chief engineer. Also we pride ourselves on service and guest satisfaction. I will look into your feedback and discuss with my staff and management team. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    200
    111
    44
    31
See reviews for
143
161
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I was in Boston for 2 weeks for business and found this property to be a good fit for me. I will stay again when I go back to Boston.
If I was going for pleasure to see an event at The Garden, this again would be an excellent property. It is literally across the street from The Garden. The subway is within 1 block and Quincy Market is 2 stops away. This property is close to the downtown happenings so the location is excellent. Its a bit hard to find as the entrance is on a side street, but once you realize where you are going its fine.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast wasn't that good, I would say a bit below HIE standards but the lady running the breakfast was good at keeping the coffee hot and fresh. The room was clean but a bit on the smaller side. Again, this is East Coast traveling so you have to expect smaller rooms and less overall quality compared to the rest of the U.S.
They had a nice business center- a bit small and the computers were a bit older- but it served its purpose. The only issue you may have with the business center is that it is in the basement and there is no staff monitoring the room. If I were, for example, a female traveler alone I might not feel so safe hanging out down in the room.
The workout room was TINY but at least they had one. The workout room is across the hall from the business center and both have a glass wall. That means that anybody walking by can watch you working out and/or anybody in the business center can watch you working out. Not exactly the most ideal situation.
They offered a $10 off-site workout option but I didn't take them up on the offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad that the hotel met or exceeded your needs while traveling. Also we do appreciate the kind words regarding the staff! We take pride in making sure that our service skills and guest satisfaction is top notch! I do apologize that you felt the breakfast was not up to par. With bacon, eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, cereals, biscuits along with a lot of other hot and cold options, our guests usually feel the breakfast has lots of variety and is what they need to get the day started. Also the business center is downstairs and not occupied by a staff member, but is equipped with 24 hour surveillance so that our guests will feel safe using the facility. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during short city break. The hotel is a good location near the North Station which has access to the subway and Commuter Rail lines. The rooms are a good size and are a good standard. Overall service of the staff was very good and were helpful. The only down side was that the room was on the Friend Street side which was noisy at times in the early hours with people coming out of bars and waiting for taxis near the TD Garden. If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyn_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the outside noise and would be more than happy to reserve you an interior room on your next visit. Although out of our control, we want our guests to have a noise free night. Thank you for the nice comments regarding our staff! We take pride in providing superb customer service. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just stayed there 1 nite. Bathroom was clean, excellent shower pressure, plenty of hot water. King bed was very comfortable. Furniture was dated, but since we don't use it; so what. Nice equipment in fitness center, included breakfast was amazing! They included eggs (hard boiled or scrambled), toast, bagels, bacon, sausage, cereals, pancakes, juices, coffee, muffins, cinamon rolls and more. This alone is top notch. Our room was over front door (5th floor) and we did NOT hear any noises on street or from any other rooms. Staff was excellent and entertaining. No problems leaving our bags behind counter while we walked around on depart day. Well recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed on 5th floor, thus no-one above us. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wudwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
We really appreciate the great comments regarding our property and staff! We feel we have a great team that does a fantastic job at providing our guests the things they need for a comfortable stay. Please say hello next time your travels bring you to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Since the decline of our economy we are looking for the most competitive hotels who identify and apply what the guest is lookin for in their hotel stay-whether for business or leisure. HI Express Boston Garden exemplifies the connection between strategy and competition. They understand the needs of the guest and provide courteous services efficiently in catering to the guests needs. The employees at the front desk impression of excellence and thorough quest to provide each customer a home away from home is exemplary. The staff provides a personalized touch to each guest with a commitment of service that is lacking in the hotel industry. Customers usually look for hotels that have broad amenities, quality at a reasonable cost. The staff and management of Holiday Inn Express Boston Garden have exceeded in understanding and capitalizing on the factors that make the hospitality industry a success. A website may advertise but the best success in advertisement is the experience a guest has at this hotel. That is why so many return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Front desk is very helpful and accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airmom330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
First, let me thank you for choosing to stay with us and it was very nice to see you again! We are glad you are doing well! Also we appreciate all the nice things you wrote, we feel the same way and are glad that our guests are seeing it too. We do our best to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and leave happy! Thank you again and the entire staff says "Hello"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 83 in Boston
1,410 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $285 - $644
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing