We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, great service, terrific location...but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, great service, terrific location...but”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

There is absolutely nothing negative that any sane human being could say about this hotel. It is in a great location, the staff is beyond accomodating, the services are impeccable, the room is spectacular with every amenity you could need down to the umbrella in the closet for those rainy Boston days. So where is the "but"?
$600+ per night when all I really need is a clean room and bath, quality staff and $300 less per night. It was a great stay as it was for business and not out of my pocket. Otherwise.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsacpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    89
    43
    9
    8
See reviews for
129
196
40
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have visited and stayed in Boston extensively, however this was the first time I ever stayed at the Mandarin Oriental. Location is good, check in was good, room was good, however no in room movie rentals. Concierge was horrible, the bartenders in the hotel bar/restaurant were more helpful and actually that was the best of the Mandarin. But for that price I should have more than just a "good" experience. I did send a letter to hotel management expressing my disappointment, and they did respond offering their apologies and a discount on our next stay. However, there won't be a next stay, there are too many outstanding hotels in the city that I would rather give my business to.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dmacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We staid twice at the Mandarin Oriental Boston: an entire week in June and one night in July.
The first stay was in one of the basic rooms (506) and is nothing to write home about. A well-equipped room, though poorly lit, reasonably sized and with a good bed. The AC was quite noisy. Internet access is an extra $14/day. Laundry was ineffective, breakfast slow...
Our second visit was quite different: a slightly larger room facing the Back Bay (815). Much much nicer: quiet, nice bath, well lit and with windows that open. Breakfast service was perfect and the staff in general was simply incredible in trying to make us feel welcome.
So my advice is definitely to book one of the larger rooms. The Mandarin Oriental is in my opinion the best hotel in Boston at the time of writing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The Mandarin Oriental in Boston was simply superb - excellent accomodations, classy amenities, very friendly staff, and great service!
Will surely stay there again on my next trip to Boston...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jledesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

First time at the mandarin oriental and the place is magnificent - the location is perfect; the staff is friendly and helpful; the spa was exceptional and there is not one thing I can think of that needs improvement! Although it was quite expensive, for a special occasion this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emgarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): $905 - $3,255
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing