We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading sign”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Biltmore
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Loganville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Misleading sign”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My wife and I were traveling thru Asheville on the 4th of July weekend and most hotels were full. We did find the Econo Lodge on Tunnel Road that had several empty rooms. The sign out front said Newly Updated Rooms. So we thought we were safe(WRONG). We checked in only to find our room did have new carpet (like indoor/outdoor)and paint. That was it for the updating. The door would not close well or by itself as most hotel room doors do. The door did not have a chain lock and the dead bolt would not even work so we were at the mercy of just the key card door lock. The furniture looked like it was about to fall apart and the BIG BOXY T.V. was sitting on a dresser that was directly to the side of the bed so if your wanted to watch it you had to lay across the bed to not strain your neck. The tub had rust in it and the towels looked and felt like i could push my fingers thru them. OOOH no sprinkler system either so the building must have been as old as it looked. No extra pillow,blanket or shampoo either. I forgot my razor and went to the front desk and the lady for one and she said that they did not supply razors, after several times trying to ask her and she did not understand RAZOR so i had to use sign language like i was shaving my face to get her to figure it out. OOOH well on a lighter note the small fridge did work keeping drinks cold. You don't have to worry about the check out time either since we were in a big hurry to get out of there as many people we saw in the morning doing the same thing.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    27
    27
    42
See reviews for
37
52
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawling, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Arrived at room in late afternoon. Went to bed that night and pulled back bedspreads and notice potato chips and other food stuff under bed. Went to front desk and asked for floor to be vacuumed. Came back to room the next day at lunch time and room still not vacuumed, but the beds were made. When you check into a room and PAY for 2 days you expect the room to be vacuumed and cleaned. When we checked out the owner had charged us an additional $14 for the 2nd night because it was a Friday. We told her she never told us that the room would be more for the 2nd night and she said it was all hotel policies and we should have known that. We told her that she had a lot of nerve charging us $14 more for the 2nd night especially since we had to request TWICE that our room be cleaned. Never again would I ever stay there or would I recommend the hotel to anyone. The owner was very rude to us. They advertise hi-speed internet but it only works in the first 3 rooms in the row.....if you want to use your computer you need to bring it down to a table and chair in the main office. How annoying is that? We specifically asked if they had hi-speed and they said yes. This owner runs a very unreliable and untruthful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgieseking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I visited Asheville and decided to stay here with some friends who traveled with me. I stayed based solely on the price of the hotel since it was a budget trip. I would hardly call it Biltmore since Biltmore is 20 mins away. It is almost directly across the street from the back entrance to the Asheville Mall - which is very convenient. BUT, it is also across from Waffle House, which means there are a ton of loud sketchy drunks wandering around at night. This was ok for a budget trip with friends, but I would never ever take my family here.

When we went to check out and I was heading back out of town, I realized I left my really nice jacket there next to the bed against the wall. When I called, she said she would leave a note for the housekeeper. When I called back a week later, she said the housekeeper never turned anything in. I guess someone's daughter has a really nice jacket now - which is worth more than I paid to stay there. It was a good price for just a bed to sleep though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0telJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

by Traveling Man 02/11/2010
I recently 02/09/10 stayed in Asheville Due to a snow storm that delayed my travel, looking for a great rate, clean rooms, I found Excellent Front Desk personal Donna & Kathy were so nice & helpful. The complimentary breakfast ,bagals, Doughnuts,orangejuice & coffee was more than enough, & what impressed me the most was how clean it was. The Front Desk girls made me feel at home. When your looking for a clean, friendly, affordable nights stay this is the place. Close to all the shopping & resturants. 5 STAR ON THIS ONE. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travling_man36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 night on vacation. Place was recently remodeled so the room was great. Did not smell, was clean, comfortable no complaints. There is no breakfast worth braggin about so don't expect more than coffe and a donut. Great local diner about 2 or 3 blocks down.
The only drawback is a few Harley lawnmowers checked in and these guys were loud with there lawnmowers and also you could hear them seap loud in the morning before they left. But it wasnt the hotels fault. Compared to many of the dives out here this is a good one.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davedmdusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.1 km away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#48 of 66 in Asheville
1,112 reviews
0.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#40 of 66 in Asheville
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 66 in Asheville
245 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
5.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Asheville

Been to Econo Lodge Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Biltmore

Property: Econo Lodge Biltmore
Address: 190 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price range (per night): $91 - $212
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Biltmore 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Asheville
Asheville Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing