We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #10 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Beaufort House Inn. It was as perfect a place to stay as I've ever been.
The inn and all the rooms are immaculate and beautiful. The grounds are gorgeous. Jim and Chris, the innkeepers, are as welcoming and hospitable as two people can possibly be, and assure that your stay there meets every one of your expectations.
You can walk or drive to downtown Asheville, but the inn is on a quiet residential street, so even the location is perfect.
The two course breakfasts each day are delicious, use local and seasonal ingredients, and keep you filled until dinner time.
The wine hospitality hour is the perfect time to sit on the incredible porch, have wonderful conversations with the other guests, and relax before heading out for dinner at one of the many fantastic restaurants of Asheville.
The rooms are amazingly clean, comfortable and beautiful. The bed linens are so soft that you may never want to get out of bed! We had a 110-gallon, two person jacuzzi in our room (Oak Terrace), and it was a fantastic way to relax after a long day of sight-seeing, running and hiking.
Jim and Chris know everything there is to know about the area, and are more than happy to help you with an itinerary for your stay.
This was our first stay at the Beaufort House Inn, but it will definitely not be our last. Thank you, Jim and Chris, for making our stay there perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 457 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Chris and Jim are wonderful people and the quintessential b & b hosts. The inn is beautiful, and the gardens are absolutely lovely. Look forward to gourmet breakfasts prepared by Jim. Before going out to dinner, sit on the beautiful wrap-around porch and enjoy wine and cheese with other guests in a beautiful setting, replete with gardens and birds. Chris could not be more helpful with planning your visit in Asheville, which is an interesting city to explore, and the surrounding area, filled with outdoor activities. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants. Chris will direct you to a great wine bar/book store in downtown Asheville. This is a beautiful inn with a warm and inviting atmosphere. Everyone who works here is friendly and helpful. It is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had a 3-night stay at the Beaufort House Inn as a family reunion and it couldn't have turned out any better. For several of the six couples it was a first trip to Asheville, and everyone agreed that it is an easy city to find things to do and see. But each day started with great coffee and conversation as we waited for Chris and Jim to let us know the fantastic breakfasts awaited us.

They couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions and directions as we set out for the day. Then, come late afternoon, "happy hour" happened with wine on the veranda as we chatted with other guests and compared notes. The ever-efficient Beaufort House Inn staff had offered restaurant suggestions prior to our arrival and made the reservations in advance for our large party. Asheville has some great restaurants and their suggestions were spot on!

We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the ambiance of this inn and the warm hospitality of Chris and Jim. The title of this review says it all -- a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregS55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife, father and I just returned from a three night stay at the Beaufort House Inn. We were celebrating my father's 95th birthday by taking in the Biltmore. I am a huge fan of Tripadvisor and have used it religously to stay at hotels/inns all over the world. I have never been disappointed with any place we've stayed and our stay at the Beaufort House continues the streak. There is no need for me to repeat all the wonderful comments on the hospitality and accommodations contained within the several hundreds of reviews that follow mine. Suffice it to say that Jim, Chris and their staff earn their 5 star reviews every day and all are well deserved. Clearly, theirs is a labor of love. For the life of me, I don't understand why the Beaufort House Inn is rated number #8 of the inns in Asheville. It has far more 5 star reviews than any other inn in town. In my book, they're #1! We will definitely return some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sarah Davidson Suite in the main house. It was perfect for three adults and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Chris & Jim are wonderful, accomodating hosts (who quickly become friends). Their great breakfasts and beautiful gardens reflect their diverse passions and you can tell their greatest passion is that beautiful Victorian Inn. Each room is beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and very cozy. No pretense here. The inn is in walking distance of downtown Asheville which is one of North Carolina's best kept secrets. If you want southern Appalachian charm with worldy cultural diversity, the Beaufort Inn and Asheville are a great destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sarah Davidson Suite on the third (top) floor of the Inn. Very private with nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyApexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
256 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $174 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing