We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Three nights in paradise!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
sunset from Your livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sunset from Your livingroom
Your private entrance Your livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
sunset from Your livingroom
Your private entrance
Your livingroom
Your livingroom
Your livingroom
Your bedroom
Your bathroom
Kitchen where breakfast is served not for guests to cook in.
fountain on western (sunset) facing deck (during the summer)
sunset from deck
what our house looked like  in 1984.
house has changed a bit since 1984
south facing back deck & stairs leading to hiking trails
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
hammock in upper yard & hiking trail returning to house
Shadow at top of stairs leading to hiking trails
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
always something blooming in Sharon's gardens
Babbling brook swing
babbling brook after it's rained
another sunset from Your livingroom
bit of Fall color
view across French Broad River valley from Inspiration Swing
one of the several swings on our loop walk in the woods.
sunset Inspiration Swing
Our girls Sunny on left age 1yr & Shadow age 10 +yrs. along the loop walk
Sunny 1yr 3/28/16
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three nights in paradise!!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I HIGHTLY recommend Sunset Sweet to anyone who is travelling to Asheville. Not only is the property incredible (it includes hiking trails, gardens, and fabulous views), Gary and Sharon are amazing! My husband and I felt like we were staying with friends, not people we had just met. Shadow, the most gently dog you will ever meet, made us feel right at home too. Every time we returned from one of our adventures she was waiting for us in the driveway. Our only complaint is that our visit wasn't long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the people!
Liked least: I can honestly think of nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory R
1 review
“Excellent place for a stay in the mountains”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Sharon and Gary were excellent hosts and incredibly knowledgeable about the options for exploring Asheville and the surrounding areas. If it were not for their suggestions and ideas on what to check out we would have not had as good of a time during our stay. The breakfasts were excellent and the garden surrounding the property was a great thing to enjoy on our mornings at the house.

One thing of note, is that while your room and space are private, it is in the couple's home. We were not aware of that before booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF24680
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
“Quiet and Relaxing Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Sharon and Gary are a very hospitable and nice couple who make their guests feel welcome and at home. Their property is beautiful and is in good proximity of downtown Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway and various hiking trails. Their two dogs are very nice and well-trained; my wife doesn't particularly care for dogs, but she didn't have a problem with them. We felt like we had plenty of privacy even though the accommodations were on the main floor of the couple's home. We stayed over the weekend and got to enjoy Sharon's delicious breakfasts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful property
Liked least: accommodations on same floor/in close proximity to owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trace C
1 review
“Amazing Property and Great Hosts”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Sunset Sweet for 2 nights while we visited Asheville. Gary and Sharon were very kind and understanding when we got in late due to blowing a tire on our way there and when we needed to leave early to visit a sick relative. The property had some great hiking and amazing views and it was fun to have their dogs Shadow and Sunny as hiking companions. The drive to Asheville is very short and there are even some neat local places to visit in nearby Weaverville (Gary and Sharon's recommendations were great!).

If you are staying here during hotter days of the summer the house can get hot as there is no air conditioning, but Sharon graciously provided us with extra fans as it was one of the hotter weekends of the year in Asheville.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin B
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you are looking for a peaceful and beautiful place to stay this is the place. We had a wonderful stay. The food was great and Gary and Sharon are very sweet people. For our first time to stay in a BnB Sunset Sweet was wonderful. Gary and Sharon gave you all the space you needed to just feel like you were at home. Shadow was a beautful pet and the new puppy was just as sweet. Our hosts were very helpful in filling us in the places to see and how to navigate to get there.

We would recommend Sunset Sweet to anyone wanting a very clean and peaceful place to stay.

Alvin & Laura

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts and the serene and comfortable setting in the mountains
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing