We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Right At Home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
Ranked #25 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My Mother, Sister, & I came to Ashville, N.C. to visit the Biltmore Estate for the Christmas Holiday Season. We are new to the Bed & Breakfast scene but are out to adventure more options due to Mom's health. We felt right at home and the Bungalow (Joyce Kilmer Suite) was the greatest. Very comfortable and warm and decorated for the holidays.
Bathroom large enough for 3 women to dress is great, and everything very neat and clean. The beds very comfortable and plenty of GOOD PILLOWS! (Just need TV's in bedrooms).
The staff was super and very eager to accommodate with any special needs.
We will be back and if looking for a second home this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Bungalow for the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weathers759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 292 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

This was our second stay at the beautiful 1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage. We returned this year after a dear friend introduced us to Frank and Ralph's wonderful hospitality last holiday season. On this trip we stayed in the Joyce Kilmer Suite which has two bedrooms, one (very large) bathroom, living room and full kitchen with a wonderful front porch and back entrance, & convenient parking. They happily welcomed our two dogs, who have never been on vacation with us and it was a real treat to have them with us. Breakfast is a true gourmet experience with fresh fruit or a warm compote to start, a main dish (for example: an egg, cheese and spinach souffle or a mound of mouth watering french toast) and a dessert course! How many places serve a three course meal for breakfast? Service is extraordinary with the owners pouring coffee and juice, describing the meal, sharing their wonderful humor with everyone who is staying at the Inn and offering their expertise to anyone who needs a restaurant review, shopping tips or area activities. We've been coming to Asheville for years, and never took the B&B plunge. There are some lovely B&B's in Asheville, but the combination of charm, elegant food and presentation, and warm hospitality will keep us returning to the Whitegate Inn each year!

Room Tip: Every room is very special. The Robert Frost Room has a King four poster bed, fireplace and an olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fox8592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for my 40th birthday last weekend and had a really great time. We're not regular B&B guests per se, although we've chosen a select few and we've had incredible experiences. WhiteGate was no exception. It sounds cliche, but we felt very at home instantly. We were both very overworked and stressed when we arrived, and literally immediately relaxed on walking through the front door. The owners Frank and Ralph are very warm and very present, which is both entertaining and reflected in the level of service and attentiveness that's provided in this warm, classy, and comfortable home. The Inn also seems to attract a very nice clientele, who were truly a pleasure to be with at meals and at the social hours. I in particular have been known to be the finicky traveler in our household, and I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone. Really nice experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_z_1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

First of all, this property is beautiful. Lots of attention to detail. The garden is amazing with waterfalls, fountains, and a fire pit. We stayed in the Robert Frost Room, which was the original master bedroom. Lots of room, comfortable, and nice furnishings. Breakfast was first class and the owners came to join us, even though they do not live on the property. Ralph and Frank are hilarious and love to meet people. They also joined us for a cocktail hour in the dining room. The Inn is very close to downtown and Biltmore Village. We went Ziplining only 3 miles away at the Wildwater Canopy Adventures, which I also recommend. Beds are comfortable and showers have plenty of hot water, despite a full house. Lots of CD's, DVD's, and books for you to enjoy. The staff is friendly and helpful. I can't say anything bad about this place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klingding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My three sisters and mother stayed at the cottage and had such a great time. With Frank and Ralph , we were entertained with conversation and a five star breakfast!! A great family time, very comfortable location, and a loverly vacation. Highly recommended to anyone!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
237 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bunn House
#17 of 39 in Asheville
125 reviews
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 39 in Asheville
682 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Asheville

Been to 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Address: 173 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2339
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $355 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Four Diamond, romantic Asheville bed and breakfast offering majestic Blue Ridge Mountain views only steps from downtown. Our charming Asheville, NC B&B features amazing rooms and private garden cottages with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, flat screen TVs & luxurious amenities. Don't miss out on unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, afternoon refreshments & award winning gardens our Inn in Asheville, and reawaken your senses with amazing treatments at our on-site Asheville spa. Pet friendly units available. A 4 Diamond, Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Hotels.com so you can book your 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1889 Whitegate Inn And Cottage
1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing