We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fresh seafood at the Lobster Trap”
Review of The Lobster Trap

The Lobster Trap
Ranked #42 of 856 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Since its opening in 2005, The Lobster Trap has been Asheville's premier seafood restaurant, and with good reason. The menu only features fresh seafood caught by trusted domestic purveyors and prepared in ways that showcase the delicate flavors and textures of fish, lobster, crabs, shrimp, oysters and clams. Located in a beautifully renovated historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville, The Lobster Trap features live entertainment from local musicians every night. To that, add locally brewed Oyster House beers, craft cocktails, seafood-friendly wines and southern hospitality and you have The Lobster Trap's formula for success.
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

The seafood was very good at the Lobster Trap in Asheville, North Carolina. The raw oysters were excellent. The lobster stuffed mushrooms were very good and had excellent sauce. If you like non breaded and not fried calamari appetizer the calamari is very good. The lobster newburg and scallops were both excellent. The service was excellent. Recommend.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank B4419PYrobertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you! We appreciate your business and great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This was our third visit to the restaurant. Obviously we like it. On this trip we were a bit disappointed by the food. Decor and service was wonderful. We had an Alaskan King crab for dinner and that was delicious I ordered a side bowl of soup that was delivered at room temperature and it was clam chowder. All the sides on my plate and my wife’s were served at room temperature. She also ordered Brocollini which was served almost cold. If you pay $40 for a plate of food it should be served at the right temperature.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank D5984BTrichardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Please accept my apologies for the temperature of your food. I will share your review with the staff and we will make sure that this doesn't happen again. We really appreciate the feedback. Thank you for being a repeat customer. We do hope you will try us again. If there is ever anything that is not to your liking, we would be happy to remove it from your check or replace it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

When you think about lobster, Asheville just does not come to mind as it is far from the coast. But I read the reviews and decided to check it out and am so glad I did.

This is a really friendly place from the hostess to the waitstaff. The menu has a few non seafood items in case someone in your party wants pasta or steak. A trout dip with crackers was brought to the table to snack on while waiting for the entrees.

I ordered the lobster roll with mayo and it came with a side of chips. The lobster is really fresh here so it was very delicious. I ordered it with the mayo because of the other reviewers and agree that was the way to go.

I can never pass up dessert either and forgot what the name of it was but it was a chocolate chip cookie in a pie slice that was served warm with ice cream and whip cream. It wasn't fancy but just really good.

I highly recommend The Lobster Trap!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NCTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for sharing! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Come here once a year with a large group. The food is always excellent. With such a big group a variety of appetizers and entrees are ordered, never a disappointing one. The waitstaff are friendly and attentive. They know their menu and can answer questions.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank hillbilly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for being a repeat customer! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We visited here based on reviews and they did not disappoint! We had the maple bacon scallops, Alfredo, and shrimp and grits. All of it was wonderful! We had to wait but in my experience places with a wait time are well worth it. They have a bar so we got a few drinks during our wait. We will be back!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 5erint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster Trap also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Lobster Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing