We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Cabin - Just what the girls needed!”
other travellers have booked this property
Charming Authentic 1920's Cabin built by Abner Gwaltney
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Charming Authentic 1920's Cabin built by Abner Gwaltney
Our home is your home during your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Charming Authentic 1920's Cabin built by Abner Gwaltney
Our home is your home during your stay
Long Range Pastural Views of Mountains and equestrian farms
Great front yard to watch the turkeys and deer
Explore downtown Asheville while you are here and then...
visit the Biltmore Estate or...
spend a day a Chimney Rock Park or...
travel the Blue Ridge Parkway or...
explore the bountiful waterfalls in WNC.
There are so many outdoor activities to enjoy while you are in Asheville!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen P
1 review
“Awesome Cabin - Just what the girls needed!”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My girlfriends and I loved our stay at Abner's Cabin and are still talking about what a wonderful time we had. One of my GF's brought her little poodle and she loved running around in the large front yard - especially when she spotted some wild turkeys to chase. The cabin was really private, had everything we needed and was very clean. I am kind of picky about beds and these were very comfortable and the bed and bath linens were obviously high quality. Asheville is so close that you can be downtown in minutes. It was hard to leave on the last day and we have already decided that we will return for another girls weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin had the exact feeling we were looking for in a place to stay
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Very disappointing the moment you walk in. Old doesn't have to dirty and not cared for. Peeling, cracked walls, a 2' crack with hanging plaster in the master bedroom. Dead bugs in the corner. Bugs crawling out iof the plank ceiling in the living room the first night. Uncomfortable furniture. The 2 acres is straight down a hill. Oh, they also don't mention the prison 1 tenth of a mile from the turn up to the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Overall comfort of the house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Having been in the hospitality business for 13 years, we were distraught by this review. We too are very disappointed only because of the condition this guest left our property in many ways. They even drove their vehicles through the yard and destroyed the grass and left deep ruts which will have to be professionally repaired.

The evening after hearing the guest had departed, I inspected the cabin and only saw a few beetles and the crack in the ceiling in the bedroom which, I later explained to the guest, had occurred from a roof leak during the previous traveler's stay. There was not enough time during the flip to repair that ceiling and it has been scheduled for repair. The interior of the cabin was professionally painted this past spring and new flooring installed in the living room, kitchen and bathrooms. There are no peeling or cracked walls that we could find upon inspection. The traveler only made one comment to us about the couch - which is new - as they are very tall people and the leg depth was not long enough for them.

As you can see by the pictures the cabin is located on a level to sloping yard and is not steep. As far as the prison goes... It has been there for years and it is a minimal security facility located beside the police and fire department training facilities. The majority of the inmates check themselves in and out everyday. This property has been in our family for over 30 years and we nor our neighbors in the community have ever had a problem. As a matter of fact, there are several multi-million dollar homes at the end of our road that were built after the prison was erected so it obviously did not concern them.

We take great care and pride in our property and we would have been more than accommodating to this traveler if they had notified us immediately of their concerns - not upon their departure. The reviews left on other booking sites by travelers since this guests departure have all been 5 stars!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggins20...
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Log Cabin and Dog Friendly!”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking for a real log cabin with character near Asheville. Little Abner provided this and more. The owner provides all the necessities. We would begin and end our day on the front porch while our dog ran around the roomy front yard. Asheville was a short 10 minute drive but there are a lot of dining places very near by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Front porch
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurfelmou...
kurfelmouse
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great cabin, lots of amenities, supplies and comfort. Good views, great location. Perfect for our girls weekend. Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the cabin.
Liked least: There were ants in the kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Ellen,
Thank you for the kind words about our sweet cabin. Yes, it is not fancy and brand new but as you said it is quaint and comfortable. Just what one should expect from a nearly 100 year old mountain cabin. We hope that you keep us in mind for future stays in the area.
Leslie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing