We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-Road Segway Trip was a blast!!!”

Biltmore Estate Segway Tours
Ranked #33 of 68 Tours in Asheville
Attraction details
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took the 2 hour off-road segway tour on the Biltmore Estate this weekend and it was so much fun! Our guide George was so informative but also very, very safety-conscious! As you can see from my photo, he spent 30 minutes training us on riding the off-road segways (which are different than on-road segways for sure) and I felt very comfortable starting off on the tour. We road all over the estate and at one point had the most amazing view of the Biltmore House across the lake. It was gorgeous. This is a definitely must-do and we thought it was quite affordable at $75 a person. The guides don't make a big deal out of it, but they do take tips so take some cash -- they totally earn it! :).

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Shoeladee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"off road"
in 21 reviews
"the french broad river"
in 5 reviews
"training session"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 6 reviews
"rugged terrain"
in 2 reviews
"basic tour"
in 3 reviews
"biltmore estate"
in 6 reviews
"beginners"
in 5 reviews
"ride"
in 11 reviews
"guide"
in 24 reviews
"blast"
in 7 reviews
"stops"
in 4 reviews
"activity"
in 2 reviews
"bike"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Our family has gone on Segways before, and perhaps we misled the guide into assuming he needed to provide only cursory instruction, as we moved very quickly into our journey. Unfortunately it had been several years since our last outing, so we could have used the refresher (and in hindsight should have asked for it). Subsequently we did not feel totally comfortable, and 2 of us fell off more than once. Our guide did not seem particularly concerned or helpful (perhaps he was having an "I told you so" moment) - but we came back 15 minutes early because he told us we had not asked for/needed the upfront instruction time. This was disappointing. First, we do take responsibility for letting him believe we were more competent than we obviously were. But once he realized we were not doing as well as we should have been doing, it was not addressed in a helpful way, and we felt we were not treated with the same kind of attention that we should have been given. Having said that, the tour itself was very scenic and for those of us who had no problems, very enjoyable. Advice to others: be totally honest about your abilities, and take the offered refresher. Do not hesitate to ask your guide for help. Segways are a lot of fun, and the views here are great, but if you are having a bad time it can ruin the experience for everyone.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

At a recent stay at the Biltmore Inn my wife and I went on a carriage ride, horseback ride, raft ride, multiple house and ground tours and the segway tour. Needless to say, we enjoyed every activity but this one, the Segway Tour, stood out. Certainly some of this is attributed to the novelty and joy of riding a segway (no experience needed) but our guide Sean was truly outstanding and made the activity so much more enjoyable. Our only regret is that we didn't have our four children with us to see their joyous faces on the trip. Well, we'll just have to come back and take them on the ride as well.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank TheLabrozzi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My husband and I visited the Biltmore Estate just a couple days ago and decided to try a Segway tour. We were not disappointed! Cameron was our guide and we, along with 3 other people, were given a brief (30 minute) training session on riding the Segways before heading out on the East side of the estate for our tour. Cameron made several key stops along the way to point out various areas of the estate (cattle operation, reflecting lake, barley fields, bridge to West side of estate, ferry boat). He shared a great deal of interesting information with us about the estate and its farming and brewing operations. He was very knowledgeable and really seemed to enjoy his job. He made our first Segway tour a great success! So much so that, when we visit again later this year, we are going to do another tour and request him as our guide! There are different tours at different price points and different lengths of time. We chose the middle level tour to begin with, but next time we're going to book the West side tour!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We have done a couple of the Segway tours at Biltmore now and the West Side Tour is a lot of fun. It gets you across the river and onto the western side of the estate where you get a chance to see part of the old dairy, the vineyards and the shooting clays facility. Not many people get over the river, and the gravel roads are fun to ride on. It is a technically more demanding ride than some and loads of fun.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank PatDD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biltmore Estate Segway Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Biltmore Estate Segway Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing