We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Solid entry level B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid entry level B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for Belle Chere. Have visited several B&B's in Asheville and this one ranks in the middle. Rooms were very nice. Bed comfortable, sleep quiet, water pressure good, a/c good, and very clean. This is a smaller B&B and most of the sq footage is in the bedrooms, no spacious grand drawing rooms to hang out in. Front porch is very nice, breakfast delicious, one course, self-serve coffee. No complimentary wine. Less perks than other options, but also cheaper than most. Location is great, about a mile walk into downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bankerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hill House does offer complimentary wine. We don't have an Innkeeper's Social Hour as some inns do, because we've found many guests prefer to be off the property or in their rooms around 6 pm. But if guests are sitting on the porch or in the parlor between 5 and 7 pm, we always try and offer a glass of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
61
341
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Enjoyed this B&B; stayed two nights. Breakfast was served on-time at 9am and was absolutely delicious both days. Even though the B&B was fully occupied, it was quiet, and there was enough parking. Room was decorated beautifully and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

First of all, the house is absolutely gorgeous. Great rooms, location, cookie jar, fantastic breakfast all great. However the grounds need some TLC especially at those prices. The front was overrun with weeds. This was our final stop on our Blue Ridge Parkway trip and this was the B&B I was most excited about before the trip but was disappointed. The innkeeper and staff were knowledgeable but we didn't get the southern hospitality that we were expecting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
The front lawn is not "overrun" with weeds. There is some clover and crabgrass, as there has always been in the lawn. But it is kept mowed and detracts little from the lawn's overall appearance. Hard to say what the lady wanted in "southern hospitality" that she didn't felt she received. We were attentive to her and her husband throughout their stay, as we are to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Three Minnesota ladies set forth for their first taste of life in North Carolina. In Asheville you couldn't get a bad meal or meet a rude person. Our state has the status of being "Minnesota Nice" but Asheville and most especially our hosts at Hill House were outstanding.

The food was rich and wondrous, and there even was outdoor yoga on mats in the hydrangea garden. It was just so perfect we hope to come again.
Lin Russell

Room Tip: For a small group of three, the room with the sleeping porch was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Each room in this gorgeous place is different, beautiful, functional and private. The house is well run with an incredible breakfast - not the usual store bought stuff slapped on the table. There is plenty of parking, free wifi that actually works, TVs and individually controlled A/C in each room. The beds, linens and towels are all of very nice quality. We're on a four month road trip and liked Asheville so much we came back (after being in beautiful Lake Lure) for a couple of days before heading back out on the road. This is how a B and B should be!

Room Tip: Great location, beautiful, free wifi, lovely breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): $182 - $328
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing