We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cozy and Very Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Cozy and Very Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Hill House for one night in October during peak leaf season. We had a wonderful time, even though it was brief. The house is very cozy and clean. Our room had some plumbing issues with the toilet but Bill and Terry were kind enough to offer us the use of another bathroom and left a surprise bottle of wine for us with their apologies.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
61
341
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Arlington, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed at Hill House Bed & Breakfast with my sister the night before my wedding and then for 2 nights after my wedding with my husband. The Flat Iron Suite is beautiful and so comfortable. Bill and Terry are wonderful hosts - there when you need something but they also give you your privacy. Every breakfast was fantastic and the evening tea and snacks were great too. We can't wait to go back. Very close to downtown and very secluded. Its amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Well kept property. Large yard and gardens almost obscure the street and neighbors completely. Grand porch. Lots of books about the area in the living romm. Creme Brulee french toast for breakfast one day was fantastic. Egg casserole another day was equallly good. Never ending cookie jar true to its name with additional treats daily (peanut butter bars, toffee bars). Good coffee, out early so you don't have to wait for your morning joe (scones and biscuits, too if you can't wait for breakfast at 9).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrShnaynay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at Hill House B&B for our short honeymoon in October 2011. First, their website captivated us by really displaying the grandeur of the rooms and amenities, and giving a thorough, warm introduction to the owners and their two beautiful golden retrievers. The B&B is in a great location close to downtown and has easy access to main roads that get you to attractions pretty easily. The house is not hard to find, and it also has great security features so you definitely feel safe. For example, after hours, the front door may only be opened with a special security device on your key chain tied in directly to an alarm system on the house, and it locks behind you. Bill and Terry made us feel right at home, and the atmosphere was so inviting! The landscaping outside was beautiful, and indoors, every common room was set up to be relaxing and entertaining. Every evening there was wine and a different gourmet treat bar, and there were always fresh chocolate chip cookies. I had some work to do while we were there, and I was very easily able to access the WiFi from both my room and the living room area.
The hot breakfasts were delicious, and different every day! Each day there was fresh fruit, fresh juice, tea or coffee, and then a hot meal of some kind- pancakes, fritatta, hot sausage, etc. We even had breakfast in our room (the S&W) on our first morning, in our robes overlooking the garden. It was a very romantic thing after our first honeymoon night. Our room had a nice jacuzzi tub that was perfect for soaking away sore muscles from our hiking adventures. Everything we needed to be comfortable was provided to us with a smile. We loved it so much, we purchased a lovely coffee mug so we can remember our time there. Thanks Bill and Terry for helping us to feel relaxed and "at home" while we were away on our Honeymoon!

Room Tip: Check out their website to see the rooms. The ones with single jacuzzi tubs are great and worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WineNDine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had not visited Asheville before and feel very fortunate to have found HIll House. The house is immaculate, breakfasts were delicious, and the two four-legged hosts added to the ambiance. Bill and Terry do a great job. We'd love to visit again in the spring, as the gardens must be incredible at that time. I highly recommend Hill House and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lin941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price range (per night): $183 - $329
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing