We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Asheville at it's best”
GREEN GABLES OF ASHEVILLE Homestay - Walk to Downtown; WIFI High Speed Internet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GREEN GABLES OF ASHEVILLE Homestay - Walk to Downtown; WIFI High Speed Internet
PORCH SWING on the Wrap Around Covered VERANDA Woodsy Back Yard for Peaceful Relaxation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
GREEN GABLES OF ASHEVILLE Homestay - Walk to Downtown; WIFI High Speed Internet
PORCH SWING on the Wrap Around Covered VERANDA
Woodsy Back Yard for Peaceful Relaxation
SUNRISE VIEW from the Front Porch
OFF STREET PARKING Behind the House
View from Living Room of the Old Fashioned WRAP AROUND VERANDA
Enjoy a Complementary Bottle of Wine by the Fire in the Living Room
Wide Screen Cable TV, Video and CD Libraries, Hi Fi Stereo is IPod Ready
Master Bedroom with Incredibly Comfortable QUEEN BED and HUGE WALK-IN CLOSET
Master Bedroom FIREPLACE. Original 1920\'s Period Woodwork HIGH COFFERED CEILING
Large Second Bedroom with Luxurious Double ANTIQUE BED, Pillow Top Mattress
FIREPLACE in Second Bedroom, HIGH COFFERED CEILINGS Original Heart Pine Wood Floor
Fully Equipped GOURMET KITCHEN w ALL NEW APPLIANCES & Plantation Window Shutters
Dining Area for 4-6. Gourmet Condiments and Spices.
AL FRESCO DINING FOR 4 on the Peaceful Veranda Overlooking the Gardens
Original CLAWFOOT TUB, Ceramic Tile Floor. Luxurious Heavy Towels.
Master Bath with TWIN VANITIES, Heated Porcelain Tile Floor, Subway Tile Walls
DEEP SOAKING TUB, Antique Stained Glass Window, Ornate Tray Ceiling has Indirect Lighting
CANDLE SCONCE on tumbled travertine wall - enjoy a romantic SPA EXPERIENCE in the DEEP SOAKING TUB
OFF STREET PARKING LOT behind Green Gables
A STONE TRAIL winds up the hill behind Green Gables to the back yard
Winter View of Winding Steps to the Back Yard Mountain Trail
Roomy Master Bath has lots of Counter and Shelf Space and a PHONE CHARGING STATION
Winter View of the Back Yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LucyGio
United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely home, not so lovely location”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
13
people found this review helpful

I was really excited about this house as it indicated it was walking distance to all the great dining and shopping in Asheville and was described as an "elegant downtown luxury rental." Unfortunately, only some of that was true. The home is lovely, very well equipped, and the owner is quite responsive and attentive. However, the home is in an area with a few houses that are vacant, boarded up, and/or should be. We went to the park up the street one morning with our family, and people were passed out on the benches. Even if if this great home was short walking distance from downtown, which it is really not - 20 minutes at best - this is not an area we felt comfortable walking around at night. We had to drive everywhere and parking is not easy downtown. So, while the home is nice, the neighborhood is definitely not elegant and it is not downtown. Really disappointing as the owner is so nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner responsiveness
Liked least: Neighborhood
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor A
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Asheville at it's best”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This rental accommodation is first class in so many ways. It is a home for home with all modern comforts - from the exquisite bed linens to the heated en suite floor. The kitchen is fully fitted - everything you could possibly need is provided. It is located a short 5 minute drive from Biltmore Village and a easy drive to downtown Asheville. Treat yourself to a weekend break - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, home comforts and cleanlines
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W
Irmo, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adorable cabin within walking distance to downtown Asheville”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I rented this cabin for my fiancés' birthday and we loved Green Gables! The cabin is roomy and very close to down town. Georgia had dog treats personalized for our fur babies, wine and all the amenities you could need for a vacation in Asheville. Our dogs loved the fenced in front yard and we loved the wrap around porch and big windows to watch them play. The beds were extremely soft and comfortable and the heated tiles in the master bath were a nice touch! We loved our home away from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall comfort and distance to down town.
Liked least: Traffic on the street in front of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyC0ra
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Alternative in Asheville”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in a lot of vacation rentals, B&Bs, and hotels, and this was one of the best. We will definitely be going back. In the past we have stayed at the Grand Bohemian hotel in Biltmore Village- which was great and dog friendly. But this year we have a new baby, in addition to our toddler, and an au pair in tow. So we were originally looking for two hotel rooms or a rental house. The problem with most rental houses is they are completely unstocked (bring your own toilet paper) and partial weeks are not always allowed. And in hotels it is such a pain to let the dog out in the morning, or get a coffee in pajamas without braving the lobby. As my husband said, the best thing about Green Gables was that it was totally kid friendly without LOOKING kid friendly- it was tastefully and luxuriously decorated and would equally suit an older couple or ladies' getaway.

Green Gables was PERFECT. The owner, Georgia, lives in a separate apartment on the second floor of the house. So we had the entire ground floor of the house, its porches and yard all to ourselves, and we only saw Georgia when we arrived. There is even has a keyless code-accessed door so you don't have to "check in" to get the keys. Georgia runs it like a European pension- she provides everything you would get at a B&B, but there are no other guests to contend with so much more privacy. She stocks breakfast items in the fridge (milk, fruit, bread), shampoos and soaps in bathrooms, etc. We did not need to do any grocery shopping upon arrival which was a huge relief- the house was INCREDIBLY WELL STOCKED: salt, pepper, coffee and filters, paper towels, a hair dryer, a full size fridge with ice already made, gas stove, washer, dryer, even everything we needed for the kids- pack n plays, high chair, baby bath, etc. The fenced yard was perfect for us to be able to get up in the mornings and let our toddler and dog play in the yard while we got organized to go hiking or walk downtown. YES WALK DOWNTOWN- even with a stroller it took us 20 minutes to get to the very center of Asheville on foot. It is a great location! Georgia just remodeled the laster bedroom to include a huge ensuite bathroom with double sinks and a deep soaking tub. It was very nice, clean, modern, and the perfect space for our family.

Best things:
Full washer and dryer means less to pack
Fenced yard is secure for kids and/or dog and covered porches are great for relaxing
Decor is historic and tasteful- not a tacky kid friendly place
Location- walk to all the best restaurants in 20 minutes or less
Fully stocked with everything you would possibly need
Modern kitchen with full size fridge and gas stove
Super clean (and we are extremely picky on this point)- absolutely no evidence of past guests

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fenced yard and covered porch were fantastic for mornings with kids and dog- no need to go down hotel elevators to let the dog out.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing