We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!! What fun!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asheville Food Tours

Asheville Food Tours
Ranked #4 of 29 Food & Drink in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the original Asheville Food Tour. In this premiere tour, taste the unique flavor of Asheville on our guided walking tours of the city's culinary treasures, in historic downtown Asheville. Eating Asheville one bite at a time never tasted so good! One of the nation's premiere food destinations, Asheville boasts some of the most exciting and memorable food in the South. Asheville Food Tours offers a sumptuous glimpse into this exotic world of local Asheville restaurants and gourmet food shops and featuring artisan cheeses and choice meats from local farms, crusty baked breads from local ovens, rich hand-made chocolates, dynamic wine lists and hand-crafted local beer.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“WOW!! What fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was so fun to go on this tour and find some great restaurants, confectioners, and learn some history about downtown Asheville! Thank you Chris for the great tour!! We had fun and enjoyed going to all the different places and tasting their food and treats! We went back to several of the places to eat and get some great treats!! Hopefully we will get to do it again and take our teenagers with us!! They will love it too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    58
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Wonderful tour and amazing food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I signed up for this tour and we were both pleased with the total experience. Each of the places we went to took pride in their craft and served quality food..Asheville is serious about fresh ingredients and the whole farm to table concept..all of the restaurants took time to speak to us and answer questions as well. Our guide Chris was super nice as well and very knowledgeable..would definitely recommend this early in your trip as you will want to shop/dine at more than one of the spots..shout out to our favorites- choc fetish, chorizo, and olive and kickin..

Helpful?
Thank Reena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great fun great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Excellent way to tour the city. Lots of informative stops and you can't beat the samples! We had a great time and got to learn alot about the different businesses that you otherwise might not find out. Great variety of stops. Would absolutely recommend. It's a good idea toward the start of your visit - gives you a good idea of what the city has to offer and you'll get a discount card for some of the businesses, which is a nice touch.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cristal0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delicious slice of Asheville.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Each of the stops on this Asheville Food tour offered an excellent sample of their food, and they were all delicious. Chris knew the owners or managers at each, and that offered in turn all of us the opportunity to hear a little more about each business. At each visit, we got to hear from them what their food philosophy and mission is, the history behind the business, the food and how it's prepared. It was a great experience that offered a lot more than just a sample of food, and Chris made it a low-key, relaxed and casual experience. I would definitely recommend the Asheville Food Tour to anyone who is visiting Asheville and would like to have a small sampling of the great food that is available there, before heading out on your own to find a place to eat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Grove, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Asheville Food Tour is Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have done both the downtown and Biltmore Square Tours and they are both excellent! Chris is a wonderful host and even gives background on the area while you are walking on the tour. By the time the tour is over you will have eaten enough or more than enough to make a meal. Definitely worth putting #1 on your itinerary!! You will also receive a coupon so you can get a discount at any restaurant you visit! Keep up the great work Chris!!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asheville Food Tours also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Asheville Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing