We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Sweet Peas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sweet Peas Hostel
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I spent the weekend in Asheville at Sweet Peas hostel. Great place, and very clean. Staff is very nice and helpful. I didn't use the kitchen while I was there but it looked really good. They had a very nice dining area and common area with plenty of books and movies if you wanted to stay inside for a bit. I would definately recommend this hostel to friends and stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Wow. I never give 5 stars but this hostel had it all. Very VERY clean, modern design, very nice kitchenette, hospitable, safe, great location in walking distance to shops, food and music. If you are planning on a trip to Biltmore, it IS indeed possible to get a taxi to take you straight through the front gate and right up to the house to be dropped off for your tour. A taxi can then come to pick you up. The person working the front desk our entire stay claimed this to not be true, which added a little stress to our trip, but a quick phone call to a taxi service cleared it up. Just a little weird working there for so long how she didn't know this fact. Regardless, STAY HERE!

Room Tip: I went with a Pod for $35. It has an extra long twin bed, reminiscent of train car sleepers. Each Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldofWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was my first hostel experience of any kind and it went very well. Sweet Peas is very clean, beds were comfortable, checking in was easy, Plus, the location is fantastic. It is right downtown so you don't have to stop drinking and pretend a half hour will sober you up to make the drive to your hotel or pay an added expense of a taxi to get to your more expensive than Sweet Peas hotel.

i would not recommend staying here if getting a full night of sleep is what you're looking for. We didn't get back to the hostel until pretty late, but still the noise from LAB was pretty loud for the final bit they were open. Luckily, i was exhausted from a day full of Asheville brewery hopping, and fell asleep. i forgot to grab earplugs that might have been helpful in blocking out the loud snoring in the room a few hours later. Then when people start waking up, you can hear them all talking, kitchen noises, and squeaky wood floors. Yeah, should have grabbed the ear plugs.

i liked having the pod. The acoustic blocking curtain doesn't actually block any noise, but it is nice to have a touch of privacy and a shade to block out some light. Inside the pod, there is a light, a shelf and an electrical outlet if you don't forget your phone charger like i did.

For just $32, you get a clean, safe place to sleep in downtown Asheville. If you can handle the noise and dorm/tent like conditions of having people around when you're sleeping and sharing a bathroom, it's a no-brainer to stay here. i'm guessing the comfort level and noise level would be much better on a weekday making it an even better stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I love the lay out of this place. It's all about the shared space. The kitchen, eating area and lounge area are big, open and comfortable. And always clean. The sleeping areas are small (our room had no windows, and the beds are built into the walls along the hallways or in side rooms with no doors).
Excellent location. It can be noisy at night as there are two bars down stairs, but you are supplied with earplugs.
Great recommendations on what to do in and around Asheville at all times of the day!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megwalker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Convenient, safe, clean, parking, good vibes from staff and surrounded by good food and drink --- Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
761 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 66 in Asheville
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
270 reviews
AC Hotel Asheville Downtown
#37 of 66 in Asheville
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Asheville

Been to Sweet Peas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Peas Hostel

Address: 23 Rankin Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a newly renovate historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville. We are a European style hostel and a great alternative to a hotel for travelers on a budget. Our beds start at $32 per night and we are clean and comfortable with friendly knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Peas Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing