We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Biltmore

Biltmore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: George Vanderbilt's historic country estate in Asheville, NC; Biltmore includes Biltmore House--America's largest home--plus gardens, winery, Antler Hill Village, historic farm, 4-star Inn on Biltmore Estate, shops, restaurants, branded products, and outdoor adventures. This National Historic Landmark is an amazing destination offering a wide range of activities for all ages.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Pretty grounds but not worth the wait in exhausting long lines. Ripoff if you ask me.The lines were so long that they give you a two day pass so that you can come back the next day to stand in line again. We tried to get out but the attendants would not let us. Very clostrofobic.

2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilt M, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our goal is for every guest to have an enjoyable visit with us on Biltmore Estate. We are sorry you felt you did not have that experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio tour"
in 2,839 reviews
"downton abbey"
in 405 reviews
"candlelight tour"
in 527 reviews
"beautiful estate"
in 412 reviews
"bowling alley"
in 243 reviews
"antler village"
in 735 reviews
"upstairs downstairs tour"
in 285 reviews
"house tour"
in 762 reviews
"vanderbilt family"
in 398 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 1,115 reviews
"christmas decorations"
in 370 reviews
"valet parking"
in 255 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 579 reviews
"own pace"
in 419 reviews
"the main house"
in 246 reviews
"bucket list"
in 360 reviews
"christmas season"
in 209 reviews
Filter

1,259 - 1,263 of 20,197 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited in June during the week when it wasn’t that crowded. We found just the guide book sufficient for walking through the house, but many people use the audio guide. The Titanic costume exhibit was a really cool addition to the splendor of the house. The gardens were just blooming with spring flowers. I can only imagine how beautiful they are in full bloom. The conservatory was filled with lovely plants and flowers. We enjoyed walking down to the lake. It was very peaceful. I would highly recommend visiting during the week to avoid the crowds. We stayed on property our whole time in Asheville and could notice the increase in traffic as we got closer to the weekend. Make sure to visit the Biltmore exhibit in Antler Village and the winery.

Thank Wendylynn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilt M, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Biltmore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Have been here before and it is nice but was way too crowded and pricey. For the price of admission they should give you the audio guides not add another $10.

Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilt M, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We value guest feedback and will share your thoughts with leadership. We greatly appreciate guest comments as it helps us in the decision making process for any future changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Do not go. It was a bad experience, starting with the employees at the ticket counter. The gentleman that assisted us was smug and rude. He also mentioned that we were the last customers before his shift ended.

2  Thank 703kristini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilt M, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Biltmore Estate. We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Love the Titanic movie costumes being on display! The house is amazing. Definitely pay the extra for the audio tour!

1  Thank lainiecleghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilt M, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biltmore also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
North Carolina Mountains, NC
 

Been to Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing