We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dont stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

rude desk clerk. loud hvac overcharged on the room

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology for an unprofessional check in experience. This is definitely not our usual custom. I will address this immediately with our front desk team.
We hope you will stay with us again in the tuture.
Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    193
    54
    16
    8
See reviews for
149
183
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

A trip to Biltmore for the Christmas holidays was planned and this hotel was chosen by my friend who was not very familiar with the area.
While traveling to, I realized it was NOT on the usual strip of hotels in the Biltmore Village.
It was about 12-15 min away.
Very nice, clean accomodations; helpful staff. Especially when I walked in to our room and my eye began to water. I started sneezing, my nose clogged up within 10 min of being in the room!
It was not smoke, I couldn't figure it out!
I stepped outside on the cute balcony to get some fresh cold air. Gathered myself together and went back in.
The sneezing started again. (Please note-I am not one of those people that takes meds for allergies constantly, and only has 1-2 sinus infections/yr.)
There was a different odor in the room, but not offensive.
When I mentioned it to the front desk, they were aware of the sensitivity of some people.
I asked for a de-ionizer. They took it up for me and after dinner, the room was much better.
We did have to leave it on the whole time.
Found out from the day staff it was the combination of cleaning chemicals required by HIE to clean. Nothing they can do. Very apologetic.
Otherwise, excellent.

The staff recommended the local restaurants for which we would get a 10% disc. We tried one-the steak place (can't remember name)
It was one of the best places I have eaten. I asked for a center cut filet, rare and I got it!
My friend asked for the prime rib and it was an excellent cut.
Salads, veg and starch came with the meal.
Outstanding service and quality.
Price? Around $40, and that includes tip, and 2 beers!
Compared to eating at the Biltmore Stable or Deerpark, eat at the local and then do your tours.
Didn't check out the mall nearby, spent the day at Biltmore Village and ate at the Country Kitchen.

Room Tip: some rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RULISTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at our hotel we would like to thank you for your business. We are researching different cleaning products that would be within our standards. We have serveral locally owned restaurants with two blocks of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again soon!
Best regards, Ellen Pettigrew, Sales of Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We needed a room in Asheville at the last minute during "Leaf Looking" season and this was the only hotel available, so we were a little nervous, but the hotel turned out to be just fine. The room was comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was very good. Some previous reviewers mentioned renovations, but those had evidently all been completed as everything looked up- to-date and there was no construction anywhere in sight. We had to have our room keys updated twice, but the front desk attendant was very polite. It was a bit of a drive to downtown, but a good value during peak season.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DollarsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
On behalf of our entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express we would like to thank you for your business & we hope to see you again.
Ellen Pettigrew
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Oct 29 - 31. Checked in early to rude desk clerk. Specific non-smoking room smelled of smoke. Refrigerator made very loud thumping sound. HVAC unit worked but fan was a bit off balance adding to room noise. When we requested a new room we were denied. Requested to cancel reservation to go to another hotel but was informed since the reservation was created online we could cancel but would still be charged full price. In the end stayed at the hotel and slept terribly.

Continental breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Our room had a large amount of AC and Fridge noise. Request to be shown the room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies. This is definitely not our usual custom & I will address this immediately with our team.
Sincerely
Ellen Pettigrew
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights so we could tour the Biltmore Estate.

The front desk checked us in because it was their job. No one went out of their way or spoke more than needed to us.

They were packed the first night we were there so we got stuck with a "basement" room with a street level view of a parking lot and an actual street. The room and bathroom were updated and very clean.

Free breakfast with a pretty decent amount of choices. Outdoor pool. Just off the highway and close to some restaurants and a small shopping mall. It was about 15 minutes to Biltmore.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shantikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for your stay with us and your kind comments about our hotel. We try to accommodate all room requests when we have the rooms. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Ellen Pettigrew
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
4.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
14.1 km away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
9.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806-2225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price range (per night): $164 - $277
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing