We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
46
30
14
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
30
14
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanwaffleshot tubwithin walking distance to downtowncomfortable stayno elevatorwaffle makerhot breakfasthot itemsnight staylarge bathroomfront desk clerkking bedfree breakfastother hotelswould definitely stay here againa great stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Easy to find and within walking distance of town. Very clean, very nice people, quiet and good wifi. There is a park nearby and the college is very close too. We enjoyed our stay there, which included a hot breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Curtis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgegunnison, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We are delighted to hear your expectation was met. I appreciate your taking the time and responding on your stay with us. We work diligent to make sure our guest satisfaction is met. Our hard work and dedication to our guest will always be our priority. Thanks again look forward on your next visit to Gunnison Colorado Econolodge.

Management of Econolodge Gunnison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

It is High Summer Season in the mountains so nothing is reasonable but $240 including tax for one person two nights was a tough load to swallow especially since the mattresses are worn out.
Expect no space at the vanity in the bathroom. Be ready to make fast adjustments to the water temperature as you shower.
Overall it was serviceable. I thought breakfast was okay.
I guess it's what you get in a tourist town.

Room Tip: Try to get second story and away from the parking lot
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Camille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgegunnison, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback on your stay with us. We have rooms with two vanity and two queen beds if space is needed in the bathroom. We have circulating water system throughout the hotel to provide all guest adequate water supply. Rooms have been updated recently and staff are always courteous and willing to help.
Our tax rate in Gunnison is 12.9%, I understand your frustration on the rate. I apologize for not meeting your expectation, I assure you we will next time.

Thanks again management of Econolodge Gunnison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

First off, the owner is an extremely nice man, and his staff also speak highly of him. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a fridge, microwave, and yes, a Kuerig coffee maker! Excellent location just one mile from the airport, a 5 minute walk to Main street, and 3 very good eateries literally next store. The 3 staff members I met that worked the front counter were all extremely friendly and helpful, and Brooke has a really cute puppy, if you're nice, she might show you pics ;-). I am returning in September and will not even look at another hotel, what's the point? I do recommend one thing if you make a reservation, and that is book it directly with them instead of using a travel service which takes money from the owner. Even if you pay a couple extra bucks, it's really a nice gesture. Anyway, I hope this helps somewhat.
Dave

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgegunnison, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks again for the kind words Dave,

This hotel is a pride and joy for all of us that works here. The improvements that are made yearly to this hotel is nominal because people at our hotel makes our guest welcome. I appreciate you acknowledgement of our staff and decided to return and give us another try. We value your feedback and business and I ll let Brooke know to continue share her pups pictures with guest :)

Thanks again management of Econolodge Gunnison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was small for a king bed. On the other hand,, the bathroom was very large. A big negative for me is that a nightstand and light was only on one side of the bed. This made it very difficult for one of us to read or put anything next to the bed. The mattress was good but pillows were hard so we had to retrieve our personal pillows from our car. Shower was good. A/C was effective and not noisy.There is no freezer compartment in the fridge. We like to have one so we can re-freeze our freezer packs. Breakfast was good with scrambled eggs and bacon plus the usual items. Very good coffee which was appreciated. Hotel is on the main road through Gunnison and convenient to local restaurants and shopping.This Econolodge is definitely a step up from the usual budget hotel, if you can consider these prices budget ones!.

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs are a problem choose a first floor room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgegunnison, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

We appreciate your feedback and value your business. We will be adding new lighting and night stand toward the end of year. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward on your next trip to Gunnison Colorado. We strive to attain 5 stars and will continue to improve and make progress.

Thanks again management of Econolodge Gunnison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This motel has no elevator. The beds were just ok. The room seemed clean. The breakfast was yuck, they had the cheap cheap paper plates for us to use, they actually cut the fake egg omelets in half, the potato patties were inedible, they had been microwaved I guess. There was no meat available to choose from, no butter for the waffles. Not my choice of motels, we probably will not stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank myalinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgegunnison, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time and responding on your stay with us. Your experience on our breakfast is not the norm. We have an attendant available to assist if items were not present and we have two types of plates one for waffles and one for hot items(bacon, sausage and/or omelet). Our hashbrown patties are not microwaved and our omelets are not fake or cut they are precooked omelets which are common items at midscale hotels. Our staff will improve on communication with guest and replenish hot items as items are cooked and other items (butter and etc). Given the location of the hotel and amenities we offer our guest in the most part are elated and content with our services. We hope you'll reconsider staying with us in the future and appreciate your feedback.

Thanks again management of Econolodge Gunnison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews