We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack lustre experience”

Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole
Ranked #22 of 92 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant really hungry after an afternoon of hiking. After travelling in an RV for a week, we were all really craving some steak and vegetables, so when we saw that on the menu it was an easy choice. We ordered the potato rather than the rice or fries.

Unfortunately for our server, who was both attentive and efficient, it was the kitchen and our meals that provided us with the mediocre experience. The wait was far too long and although our server kept coming back to our table to both apologise and reassure us they wouldn’t be much longer - we were all well beyond it by the time our meals finally arrived.

Our seasonal vegetables that we were so looking forward to, were two tiny pieces of broccoli and half a plate of thick, nothing special, red pepper/capsicum slices (seeds still in quite a few). The potato was crunchy inside and as bland and tasteless as we’ve ever tasted. Even with the small foil wrapped tablet of butter and some sour cream on top it was such a dry, boring affair. The one redeeming feature of our meal was the steak - it was tender and cooked exactly how we ordered it.

All in all, a good steak, but the rest of the meal was very underwhelming. Doubt we’d return.

Thank aussiegreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear aussiegreta,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that your dining experience was not up to par while dining at Zax. We do take great pride in great customer service and food. We will pass this along to the kitchen so they are aware of the issue you had so we make sure it does not happen again.
Again thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your experience.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 190 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Fun atmosphere...we had the pizza buffet...over priced and like most buffets, the food is not fresh.

Thank QueenAngel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear QueenAngel71,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you providing your feedback to us. We take great pride in fresh food especially if it is on the buffet, but unfortunately we feel short for you on the buffet.
We do hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We are a family of 4 that visited for dinner. This place can be busy we only waited 5 minutes to be seated. Our server was friendly and kept up with all his tables.
The pizza was ok. It's a soft crust which is not my preference but overall it was good. Price was decent and the upstairs outside seating was very nice. For a family this is great because the food is good, the wait was not long and the price is affordable.

Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Matthew M,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your fabulous review on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled that you had a great time dining with us and was able to enjoy the rooftop seating area.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were just in Moab over spring break which turned out to be "Jeep Week" so everything was really crowded. Coming from the East Coast it really wasn't that bad. Kind of like any given summer weekend in Great Barrington and nothing close to a summer day in the Outer Banks. But the locals all seemed to think it was a big deal. Our hotel key card gave us 10% off at Zax so we tried it out. The space they have created was really nice. It was a busy, slightly noisy, active bar and restaurant with custom made decor elements and a local feel. Very different from one of the other places we tried that looked more like an upgraded Denny's with rows of Formica booths.
The first night we came here the food was great and the service was excellent. We had burgers, sandwiches, and the pizza bar. It was all really good. For $15 you can get all you can eat Pizza, Salad, and Soup. I didn't try the Pizza but the kids said it was excellent.
The second time we came here the experience was not quite as good. The food was decent but the service not so much. I mostly attribute this to having a server who was really inexperienced and poorly trained. It was no big deal but the contrast with the guy we had the fist night was notable.
Overall this is a great place to go for a sit down meal at a real restaurant with a local feel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 435bobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear 435bobj,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your great review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy you were able to join us through one of the busiest times in Moab. We are happy to hear that you joined us for two different meals, although the second one was not as enjoyable. We do thank you for your feedback on your second visit as it is good for us know.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Their pizza was the freshest thing I have eaten in the longest. If I lived here I would just order pizza from here every night. Service was super fast and food was great. Prices were more than reasonable and ambiance was great. Sit upstairs. Absolutely no complaints. I would definitely eat here again.

Thank Sachkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sachkia,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your awesome review on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled that you had a great time dining with us and that you enjoyed the pizza. We have some of the best pizza in Moab and we are happy that you found us.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing