We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere ”

Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole
Ranked #26 of 100 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We are a family of 4 that visited for dinner. This place can be busy we only waited 5 minutes to be seated. Our server was friendly and kept up with all his tables.
The pizza was ok. It's a soft crust which is not my preference but overall it was good. Price was decent and the upstairs outside seating was very nice. For a family this is great because the food is good, the wait was not long and the price is affordable.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Backcountryguide280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Matthew M,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your fabulous review on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled that you had a great time dining with us and was able to enjoy the rooftop seating area.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 352 of 4,121 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were just in Moab over spring break which turned out to be "Jeep Week" so everything was really crowded. Coming from the East Coast it really wasn't that bad. Kind of like any given summer weekend in Great Barrington and nothing close to a summer day in the Outer Banks. But the locals all seemed to think it was a big deal. Our hotel key card gave us 10% off at Zax so we tried it out. The space they have created was really nice. It was a busy, slightly noisy, active bar and restaurant with custom made decor elements and a local feel. Very different from one of the other places we tried that looked more like an upgraded Denny's with rows of Formica booths.
The first night we came here the food was great and the service was excellent. We had burgers, sandwiches, and the pizza bar. It was all really good. For $15 you can get all you can eat Pizza, Salad, and Soup. I didn't try the Pizza but the kids said it was excellent.
The second time we came here the experience was not quite as good. The food was decent but the service not so much. I mostly attribute this to having a server who was really inexperienced and poorly trained. It was no big deal but the contrast with the guy we had the fist night was notable.
Overall this is a great place to go for a sit down meal at a real restaurant with a local feel.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 435bobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear 435bobj,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your great review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy you were able to join us through one of the busiest times in Moab. We are happy to hear that you joined us for two different meals, although the second one was not as enjoyable. We do thank you for your feedback on your second visit as it is good for us know.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Their pizza was the freshest thing I have eaten in the longest. If I lived here I would just order pizza from here every night. Service was super fast and food was great. Prices were more than reasonable and ambiance was great. Sit upstairs. Absolutely no complaints. I would definitely eat here again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sachkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sachkia,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your awesome review on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled that you had a great time dining with us and that you enjoyed the pizza. We have some of the best pizza in Moab and we are happy that you found us.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Wide variety of pizza and other foods. Pizza was very good. Service was good. Seated much quicker than expected.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Go441574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time and posting your fabulous review on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled that you had a great time dining with us and that you enjoyed your meal.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Good dinner for the family at Zax. Had the salad and pizza bar. Food fine and good value for hungry teens. Servers friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank jennifercG125SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire W, Guest Relations Manager at Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear jennifercG125SB,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your awesome review on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled that you had a great time dining with us and that you enjoyed the pizza and salad bar.
We hope you had a great time in Moab.
Zax Management Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing