We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 259
USD 230
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 259
USD 230
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 293
USD 254
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
USD 286
USD 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 373/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Zephyr(San Francisco)
USD 341
USD 319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
USD 343
USD 238
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 328
USD 262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 375/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 327
USD 287
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
USD 512
USD 256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 382/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 507
USD 363
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,554)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveller rating
469
719
262
60
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
719
262
60
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshitchcock filmunion squaresutter streettenderloinceiling fanwalk in wardrobefew blocksdecent sizeflat screen tvfree coffeestayed here for nightsdesk staffpublic transportfisherman's wharfcable cararound the cornerhomeless people
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The Vertigo is a small hotel in a good location for touring the city. There is no dining room but there are a good selection of places to eat nearby

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I have just returned from a stay in SFO at the Vertigo Hotel. Location was great for all areas of San Fran. Not far from shopping in Union Square, and you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf (about 30 mins walk). Local area is very safe. Room was fantastic, absolutely huge and cleaned every day. The hotel could do with a restaurant bar area which it is currently lacking. The reception area seems strangely baron and almost a bit like its in the middle of having work done. There was one night when I was woken up around 2 in the morning by construction work (sounded like it was coming from inside the hotel, but not sure). Did mention to reception and they were very apologetic and assured it would not be repeated. Would recommend this hotel, it is clean, modern and fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Croydongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The staff was always ready to help you, big smiles and good mornings all around. They were prepared and knowledgeable,they were really sweet! Loved them all! Staff followed up on taxis when they didn´t show up and went out to pull one if necessary. Helped with luggage without expecting a tip (which they got for being so helpfull and sweet).

The hotel has a funky design and being a Hitchcock fan myself I truly got a kick out the hotel being the Hotel Empire on Vertigo.

The location was accessible to cable cars, a few coffee shops for breaky in the morning are nearby. You can actually walk down from this location to Union Square and Chinatown easily, take a cab or cable car on your way back (very uphill!).

As a solo female travelr, I felt safe all the time. Left things out left and right in the walk in closet very comfortable and had nothing missing. So comforting!

Taxis to Caltrain and Ferry Building took 10-15 minutes even on peak hours.

They had some minor work done during my stay which seems to indicate they like to upkeep the place. The carpet did not seem great but I think they take pets which is so nice.

Check out early and they were so lovely to store my bags during my day out. Would of gladly stayed more nights there!

If you will be out all day sighseeing, shopping, working, this hotel will do the trick!

I will try to stay there again when I´m in SFO.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaynaZeitlin, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2010

Thank you for choosing Hotel Vertigo for your accommodations and for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in the genuine hospitality that our team delivers to our guests each day and are glad that you too, had the chance to experience their big smiles and friendly assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Vertigo and San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My wife and I, along 3 other people (attending my sister's wedding) stayed here on the same week.. We're mostly pleased.. Only a few minor beefs.. There is NO A/C in the rooms, so if you get a southward facing room on a high floor, GET READY FOR HEAT until the evening when it cools down nice.. As of October, only the 3 lower floors HAVE NOT been renovated, the Hotel Vertigo experience is incomplete without a renovated room.. On our tub, the glaze was peeling off on a 1 foot by 1 foot area at the bottom, it seems the reno did not involve a new tub, but instead a reglaze of the old tub.. The neighbourhood is fine, mostly quaint coffee shops, and restaurants: Japanese, Italian, American diners etc.. It's only a 10 minute walk to Union Square, but the Sutter street rooms still get noisy from the traffic.. Overall, I would recommend this hotel with some advanced warning on the lack of A/C..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozymandias87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaynaZeitlin, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Thank you for choosing Hotel Vertigo for your accommodations and for sharing your experience with others. Sutter Street can be busy at times and that is why we had installed double paned windows for our guests, which has been well received. Sounds like you had some extra sunshine during your stay as well! San Francisco is known for its cooler weather however, and as you experienced, we do have a handful of days where the sun is quite strong. As part of our renovation, we installed ceiling fans to help cool down the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Vertigo hotel is a really nice place: we arrived one day late thanks to KLM, and even if we already paid the hotel, the give back the money for the night we lost. Choose the renewed room is much much better.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranxer0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews