We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT hotel, but not for sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #73 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sonoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT hotel, but not for sleeping”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was my second trip. I am soooo dissapointed. We stayed in the main hotel "Traditional" rooms". I was awoken NO LESS than 10 times from 11 pm to 4am by loud people walking down the hallway. I was not far from the elevators and the walls are truly paper thin. (same thing happened last visit) Then at 6 am the people in the room next to us were up preparing for their day. I heard every noise they made. I swear I heard them put a coffee cup down on the table. I heard their whole conversation for goodness sakes.
Let me say in all fairness that I am a light sleeper at times, but this was over the top. The hotel is truly lovely. Perfect location, staff is wonderfully accommodating. Clean and charming. I guess after $200 room, $60 night parking & $15 day for Internet I just assumed I would sleep.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper get a room FAR away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimSonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinStFrancis, Director of Rooms at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear KimSonoma:

We appreciate your feedback regarding your return visit to The Westin St. Francis. I’m happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, and enjoyed the charm of the Landmark Building. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy a restful night of sleep, however. For your next visit, I’d be happy to personally assist you in finding a room more suited to your needs. I can be reached at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely, 

Michael Smutzer

Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,918
    1,835
    942
    458
    260
See reviews for
1,030
1,607
266
1,619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in the traditional tower of the Westin and loved it. The room was unique and whilst smaller than I expected, had fantastic attention to detail with a chandelier and other beatifully timeless fixtures and fittings. The bar and lobby were modern and the hotel was central to everything that I had come to see. Check-in and Check-out were fast and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinStFrancis, Director of Rooms at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Katrina L:

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at The Westin St. Francis.
 
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Landmark Building. If there’s ever anything we can do to assist you with a future stay at The Westin St. Francis, please feel free to contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com. We look forward to your next visit to San Francisco.
 
Sincerely,
 
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
281 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here in the “historic” hotel. The hall to the room was somewhat spooky and made one feel you were in a long ago era. We found the room to be very small, old and extremely basic. The bathroom was tiny with very limited shelf space. The bi-fold closet door did not shut so it made the room feel even more confining. Fortunately we were there for only two nights. On the second day upon returning to our room mid-afternoon our room had not been cleaned and there did not appear to be any visible housekeeping staff on our floor. On our way out of the hotel for the evening around 4:30 pm my husband stopped at the front desk to request our room be made up. He was told it would be taken care of immediately, however, upon returning at 10 pm it had not been cleaned. The staff in the hotel didn’t really seem to care about the guests and the hotel atmosphere was rather impersonal. I appreciate history but this hotel management is using the “historical” theme to keep it looking old and tired. Both nights we were unable to stop in any of the lounges as they were literally packed with people. Each time we went outside the hotel (no matter which exit) we were approached by bums and beggars. Our room faced Geary St and about half way down the block was a loud protest outside another hotel which was heard clearly in our room (on the 11th floor) every day we were there. As a frequent visitor I can honestly say this was the worst hotel stay we have even had in SF and we were so glad to leave. I would never return nor would I recommend the Westin St Francis.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the "historical" hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinStFrancis, Director of Rooms at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Michbren:


Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. Your feedback will assist us in our constant efforts to ensure that each guest has a positive and enjoyable experience. Your visit to The Westin St. Francis should have provided an experience that allowed you to feel better than when you arrived. Clearly this did not happen during your visit.

Please accept my apologies for the problems you experienced during your stay with us. It is truly troubling to read the concerns you have expressed and understand that you did not feel welcome.
 
I’m also disappointed to hear that your stay failed to meet our usual level of quality. I’ve had our staff look into the issue with the closet door, and I can assure you that it has been taken care of. The lack of prompt housekeeping services is, as you noted, unacceptable. We’ve addressed the issue with our staff and I’m confident that it won’t happen again.

If you have any further questions or need help booking a future stay at The Westin St. Francis, please feel free to contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com. We look forward to your next visit to San Francisco.
 
Sincerely,
 
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

miles behind other hotels in the Westin chain and other hotels in the same price bracket in the area. Poor service - there was only one person at reception so the check in queue was 20mins. noisy (I stayed on floor 3) and the facilities are well past its splendor. not coming back here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinStFrancis, Director of Rooms at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Alejandro D:

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. Please accept my apologies for the concerns you have expressed. We pride ourselves on our service, and I apologize you were unable to experience this during your recent visit. I’ve taken steps to ensure that our reception desk is appropriately staffed, particularly during peak hours.

We’ve also taken into consideration the concerns you have expressed regarding the noise and general condition of facilities. We’re constantly working to improve the balance between historic charm and modern convenience. While we’re proud of our hotel’s history and preservation is a priority to us, there’s no greater priority than exceeding your expectations.
 
Please let me know if there’s ever anything we can do to assist you with a future stay at The Westin St. Francis. I can be reached at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.
 
Sincerely,
 
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a very nice Union Square hotel. The rooms are adequate size and the staff is friendly and efficient. Our only complaint was the noise level of the air conditioning, which made a very loud thump each time it went off. It sounded like something had been dropped against the door. I heard some complain of street noise, but our room didn't face a street so that may be a good thing to request. Such a handy location and beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing inside will be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,544 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#93 of 228 in San Francisco
3,144 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $308 - $794
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing