We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I'm late to review this - we stayed 7/10/11 to 7/13/11. I had never been to San Francisco, but my fiance had been. We picked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend who lives down the street. She had family that stayed there in the past that used a friends and family discount. So when I called I said we were visiting a friend who lived down the street and I got about $10 or so off the room each night.

The elevator is old, and the rooms are old but we loved the location and walked and took public trans everywhere. I'm so glad we chose this area and not somewhere more touristy. We ate great food within walking distance, a highlight of the trip for me.

There was a small, older fridge in the room and we did use that. There is no gym but they have a deal with a nearby one where you can go for a few dollars I think.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. We had a nice corver view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Majestic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 397 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed here once and would stay here again given a good deal. The rooms are fun and decorated to the period as much as they can be. Hotel staff is very helpful and fun and willing to accomodate you in any way they can. It is close to Japantown which was so much fun and there is a little market within walking distance for in room supplies. There is even a haunted legend which lends to the atmosphere. On the down side, the rooms are a bit overpriced and it is an old hotel so be prepared to hear some noises upstairs from heavy fotted guests and the restaurant attached is pretty nice. Other than that if you are planning on staying in your room for any long period of time make sure you get a junior suite or bigger. It was a fun experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a smaller room one night and then moved to a bigger suite. So both rooms were nice but...
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunzOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Thank you for your five star review! We apologize about the price but San Francisco is expensive. Hope we see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Liar, liar - right from the start. My husband & I were attending a family reunion in Berkeley & decided we'd like to stay over at an affordable victorian in the City rather than drive the 90 minutes back to our home in Santa Rosa. We booked three weeks in advance through a reputable online service, & received reservation confirmation via email from the booking service AND from the hotel directly. When we got to the hotel to check in, Raj told us that he didn't seem to have our reservation. We told him that actually, just that morning before we left home, we received an email from the hotel confirming our reservation. He scrolled through a few more screens & asked us to step aside wait while he "looked into it."

He came back & told us quite apologetically that, "The online service you used to book your reservation never confirmed it with us at the hotel so it's their fault you don't have a room reserved. The email you received must have been from BookingBuddy. We're all booked now & don't have any more rooms - so sorry." I didn't argue too much at the time because I thought it was possible the email we received was from BookingBuddy & not from the hotel. We didn't have a copy of it with us so could not confirm.

Meanwhile, Raj gave us his number & email & said that he would be happy to "make good" on the booking co's error if we just contacted him before we came to the City again to stay. Needless to say, we came home & confirmed that the (2) emails confirming our reservations were sent FROM THE HOTEL! Which means that they did have our reservation but at some point, double booked it & then went ahead & blamed it on the online booking co. Is it any surprise to learn that as of this date, two months later, we have not had one returned call or email from our "friend" Raj?

There are plenty of other options to stay in San Francisco & most innkeepers are honest. Find one of those!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank TessandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

We are greatly apologetic about the issues concerning the reservation. We will make sure our employees are more trained and professional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Pros: Very authentic Victorian experience; the lobby is gorgeous and the front desk lady was nice. Cool-looking room (we got a junior suite) with the basic amenities. Decent amount of space. Bed was moderately comfy. We paid $124 for one night in a junior suite, so I considered it a decent room for the price. Good location too and very artfully decorated.

The Cons: I got the suite because it advertised a fireplace. Apparently that doesn't mean the fireplace has to WORK. The front desk lady said that none of them work; the city turned off the power to them or something. So it was kinda false advertising. Secondly, there is a bit of a musty smell to the rooms. Not overpowering, but definitely "authentically aged", haha. Thirdly, the rooms have blackout curtains, but they're literally NAILED to the walls to keep you from pulling them shut (I managed anyway, haha). Finally, the climate control in the room didn't work either, so it was probably in the mid 60's with no hope of making it warmer.

Overall: If you're not picky, the price is decent, but I guess you get what you pay for. For me, the cons tended to outweigh the pros. Decoration and theme is nice, but if you advertise a fireplace, it should work.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

We apologize about the fire place, the smell and the curtains. We will adjust the rooms to make our future guests eel more comfortable. Come back soon to see what we improved on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were drawn to this place because we loved the idea to stay in an old-fashioned hotel in San Francisco. Unfortunately that plan backfired a little bit.
Don't get me wrong, this is not a bad place there is simply some room for improvement especially considering what you pay- though I guess in high priced San Francisco that could be a widely spread problem.
The look of the place is great, lovely designed, all the old classic style and furniture we hoped for. But that comes with a price: The room had a bit of an old smell that was hard to get out even though we left the windows open all three nights. It is clean though there is just too much old furniture in an a bit too small room I guess. I wasn't a big fan of the bathroom either (which was very small), though mostly clean the old shower required you to be fully surrounded by curtains that hang down into the water to protect the wall papers. I would have preferred a better solution for that.
I loved the funny designs in the old elevator, like I said before, the look of the "Majestic" is great but maybe its best time has passed?! I mean, old and old fashioned is good but this start to edge over to a bit run down unfortunately. We were out most of the time anyway to explore the city but I think the hotel needs bit of work.
The rooms are equipped with fireplaces but they don't work, we asked about that and were told they were missing some sort of upgrade?? I know, in California the need for fireplaces is rather low but when you advertise your hotel to have a fireplace it ought to be a functioning one (we were there in October and wouldn't have minded a nice fire at night).
The location is not too bad, public transportation can get you around easily from there since it is kind of central to lots of sights. Not sure how well it works for parking.
You find lots of Cafés, Restaurants and Bars in the neighborhood (therefor we never used the hotels restaurant which seemed a bit overpriced as well) but the road the hotel is on is rather quiet and surrounded by apartments mostly.
We enjoyed our stay despite all the negative points but a better deal would have made our stay more pleasant. And I don't think I would choose it again unless things changed a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
651 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,355 reviews
Music City Hotel
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $157 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Majestic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing