We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Second attempt at review, as the hotel complained to TA about my first review. Apparently you are not allowed to give your honest opinion of their elevator!

This hotel was very overpriced for the very small room we stayed in. The reception staff were rude, so I guess it is not a surprise that they complained about my original review.

The one star accurately reflects my opinion of this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUS_General_Manager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CR111,

Thank you for your honest and candid comments which we take very serious and help in what needs to be improved.

It is a surprise that your first attempt was not posted as we did not receive it. I do apologize that your visit was not as expected and as for the elevator we have gotten it fixed since. It was a bit of concern it was making a rather strange noise.

We will take this a training tool for the staff moving forward.

If there's anything I can assist with or answer please do not hesitate to contact me directly.


Warmest regards,

Christian David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We have often walked right by this little gem completely unaware of what we had been missing. First the hotel is perfectly located only steps from Union Square. The rooms are well appointed and cozy. Your rate includes continental breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening. The staff is friendly and efficient, always making you feel welcome.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank mahlonjanwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is small but very cute and the rooms were big so it did not feel small at all.
We were checked in right away, our room was ready and we were in our room within minutes of walking into the hotel.
The location is great. The hotel is half a block from Union Square. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance.
We did take a car but used the parking garage around the block. When I called the hotel about the parking situation, they were very helpful and told me that if I did not want to use their valet parking, they could give us options of where to park.
The sitting areas on each floor make it very personal and comfortable. There is a water machine to fill up your water bottles.
The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

From the moment we arrived we were treated as special guests! Loved the sparkling wine at check in after a long days flight to CA. A special thanks to Ann for her warm welcome to SF! We loved everything about this boutique hotel. We were upgraded to a suite that was spacious, clean and beautiful. We faced the corner of Union Square and could hear the various musicians playing in the evening if we opened the window. We would definitely book this room again!The location, staff, nightly wine & hors d'oeuvres and warm fresh baked cookies, chocolates on our pillows each night, fresh water bottles daily, wonderful breakfasts, coffee & tea being available 24/7 are all reasons that give this hotel a 5 star rating.Thank you for the special treat and service we received in celebration of our 30 year anniversary!! It's one we will never forget!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

A boutique hotel right in the centre of activities. Friendly helpful staff and comfortable room. Early evening nibbles and wine were a very welcome touch. Breakfast served in same second floor room. Business room on same level very useful for printing off documents etc

Room Tip: 2nd floor convenient for dining and printing but can be a bit noisy around 7am when breakfast set up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,429 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,742 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,500 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $290 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing