We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,870)
Filter reviews
1,870 results
Traveller rating
1,327
429
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,327
429
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese union square continental breakfast other guests evening cookies warm cookies freshly baked cookies small hotel boutique hotel hard boiled eggs brick wall yogurt evening wine post street sitting area ceiling fan perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
1,113 - 1,118 of 1,870 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Despite the small room and the total absence of a view, we we more than happy with what we were provided. Everything worked. The bathroom was functional and in excellent order, the Aveda toiletry amenities a nice touch; the Internet connection both free and fast; the mattress was firm enough and in good order; continental breakfast was fresh and of good quality and the dining area was clean. On checking out, our car, parked by the valet service, was returned at 4:30am - exactly as requested. I'd have no hesitation in recommending the Inn at Union Square to any of my friends.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank da_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I visit San Francisco about once a year, with a (grown) child who lives there, plus a medical condition I get treated at UCSF. This year we went for early Thanksgiving get-together with family members from around the country. I haven't stayed downtown near Union Square for a long time, but this trip we chose to stay at Inn at Union Square and it could not have been more pleasant and convenient. Having the BART station nearby was really convenient for arrivals and departures to airport. Quiet comfortable and pretty room, good wine and cheese every night, super nice staff, located close to great shopping for clothes, furniture, you name it, good restaurants and transportation, in the middle of everything in terms of convenience and shopping. HIghly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had an amazing experience at the Inn. It's steps from union square, the cable cars, the muni and tons of shopping. Central location for all the tourist spots - a close walk to china town or the financial district, and a transit hub is just two blocks away to get everywhere else.

The rooms are a bit small, but the personal experience more than makes up for it. The staff is very friendly and there are tons of perks:
-Continental breakfast with bagels and toast, cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee and tea
-Wine and cheese each evening
-Fresh baked cookies each evening
-Water bottles dropped off at the room each evening

Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate your patronage of the Inn at Union Square and for sharing you comments. We are extremely flattered to be thought of as the “coolest hotel you've ever stayed in.” We strive to augment our great location with friendly, personalized service and value added items such as breakfast and our evening wine reception. We all look forward to your return visit.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is a lovely little hotel, the rooms are a decent size, the continental breakfast is very good as is the wine reception every evening, the staff are very friendly and the hotel is well placed for union square and hence the rest of san diego with multiple public transport options and a taxi rank within 5 minutes walk. My only negative comment would be that is a very small hotel so there are no amenities and no big spaces outside your room to sit and have drinks or coffee, given the proximity of union square this isn't really a problem but if you want a large hotel with extensive services and room service etc this isn't the place for you

Room Tip: the 04 rooms seems to be pretty spacious from what I could tell but none of the rooms are small
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hive42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff, continental breakfast and evening wine reception. Our boutique hotel strives to provide a personalized experience for each guest where they can maximize their visit from our central location. Once again, thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn At Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

One step off the bustling Union Square area and you are inside a terrific hotel. Long time employees (Ann, Wayne and the rest) greet you as family. Little touches of appreciation (champagne) in our room, cookies at night, breakfast, wine and more. On top of all that is one of the best locations in the City! If you don't need all the frills of the fancy hotels and want to meet great people, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 32WYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews