We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveller rating
532
471
139
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
471
139
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small massage chair bathrooms and showers the penthouse fisherman's wharf fior d'italia oldest italian restaurant great location shared bathroom shared facilities antique furniture pat's cafe laundry room no elevator walls are thin european style hotel restaurant downstairs
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Charming place with a lot of nice little additions, including a massage chair and a good range of tea, coffee etc. I would recommend staying here, central to most attractions and reasonably priced, but if you're a light sleeper or noise in the night is a huge no-no for you then this might not be the place for you. The place is busy, and hence the constant bathroom water noise (flushes, pipes) is something that you might not fancy.
Another problem is the double bed- it is way too tiny, so instead choose a twin bed even if you're a couple.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a exterior view and a twin in place of a double.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2015ashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Given the low cost of this hotel I wasn't expecting much. However it over delivers in every aspect. The rooms are small but cosy and very clean. The bathroom and shower although shared has lots of lovely touches and is very clean. Each room is covered in pictures and momentos of San Francisco which gives everything a charming and authentic feel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

This is one of the quirkiest places I have ever stayed. The interior is beautiful and the location is perfect. The staff were friendly particularly Veronica who gave good advice on how to get to places, ordered taxis and helped with luggage.
The room was perfect also, I will happily recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank rogerlaidler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

We are truly grateful that you felt our hotel had charm and was beautiful. We are delighted to hear our staff was accommodating, we have let Veronica know your appreciation.
We would love to welcome you back to our historic hotel.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Location and price are the best plus side of pension style hotel.
Small but very charm. Loved the hallway. You can see how hard they try to make this place right.
Maybe it's not the place for who wants big room with bathroom.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
3  Thank vagabondalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you so much for your excellent review and for taking the time to write about your experience.
Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your time in San Francisco and your stay at our hotel. We would like to say the San Remo Hotel is a unique lodging place with a character of its own. We are glad that you enjoyed our carefully curated turn of the century artwork and décor.


We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

This was our second stay at the San Remo, and the last time was five years ago, so I was curious to see if my memories were intact. I was impressed the first time and even more impressed on this occasion. The place has terrific staff at the desk, but the team of women that keeps the rooms, bathrooms and showers in order is incredible! They keep the guestrooms looking great and the shared areas (European style) scrupulously clean - never a squeamish moment. Towels hang on a heated rack, and everything you could possibly need, other than your own toothbrush, is at hand, including shampoo, lotions, men's combs, Q-tips and more. There's a 24-hour self-serve coffee/tea stand near the office, again with an attention to detail one wouldn't expect. They also have laundry facilities with a vending machine for soap. Excellent!
The rooms are small but charming, with antique furniture and framed prints of the fin de siecle period. There's a lamp on either side of the bed, which gets major points from a couple of bedtime readers! The hallways are a continuation of the interesting-Victorian-clutter that works so well... it's a curiosity shoppe of books, ferns, framed fans, posters, and prints, even some from San Francisco's Summer of Love psychedelic poster tradition.
The hotel is clearly popular with international visitors; every language under the heavens can be heard when walking through the halls. We did note that most of the guests tend to be in their 20s, so there's plenty of diversity, just not across the generations. Perhaps we retired folks are a little too attached to our private bathrooms and showers. If so, that's a shame. The San Remo is a terrific small European style hotel (I say this even as European Hotels are becoming more like American hotels, sigh) in a terrific neighborhood. I should mention that there is a lot of street noise at night (including garbage trucks, loud motors, and loud pedestrians) but the hotel does offer earplugs. Inside the hotel, it's quite astonishingly quiet, especially at night.
I should also give a heads-up to some local restaurants: the Curry Leaf Indian/Pakistani food nearby on Columbus is just terrific (separate review on Trip Advisor); Pat's Cafe just down the adjacent Water Street and a left turn for delicious breakfasts and lunches and attentive service. Trader Joe's is one block north, so that's a good, cheap option for salad or sushi to go; and Fior d'Italia is just downstairs with a pricey menu in the restaurant but a cozy bar with great happy hour and its own bar menu.
The San Remo is a block away from the terminus of the cable car line to Market Street; it is also in easy walking distance of the fabulous Coit Tower. If the attractions of Fishermen's Wharf are appealing to you, you are probably staying somewhere else, but it's there if you are so compelled.
And finally, the San Remo has an arrangement with a parking garage associated with a shopping center at Bay Street and Mason which offers decent, close parking for $20 a day, a good deal. It's not secure - anyone can walk in or out of the place - so don't leave valuables in view or in trunk.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms on outside walls so that there is a window (otherwise it's a bit claustrophobic).
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for your wonderfully detailed description of the hotel. We are happy that you decided to come back and that you liked it, even more, the second time.
In the last years, we’ve added extra amenities, glad that you noticed. We also now also have an ATM in-house, so our guests don’t have to go out on the streets to get cash.

It is true our demographics are changing a bit, the young travelers are seeking an experience, and that is what the San Remo delivers; the chance to experience a Victorian period hotel, a glance to the past, while having access to modern necessities such as our complimentary Internet and free WI-FI.


Thank you for staying with us. We will be delighted with your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews