We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,159)
Filter reviews
4,159 results
Traveller rating
778
1,878
1,018
308
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
1,878
1,018
308
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building denny's restaurant second building great location beach street hollywood cafe cable car ghirardelli square around the corner fishermans wharf within walking distance f line two double beds stayed here for nights the golden gate bridge two blocks street noise
Filter
Updating list...
2,714 - 2,719 of 4,159 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at this property during the third week of January, 2012 for four nights. The trip was to attend a conference held at Moscone Convention Center of San Francisco. It was extremely difficult to find a room, which I believe was due to the football game between SF Fortyniners and NY Giants that week. Compared to the price I paid, the room was quite expensive. It would be unfair, though, considering that it was the game weekend.
We did not have the noise problem too much, although occasionally we were bothered. My biggest complaint is that the wi-fi connection was extremely slow most of the time. The distance to the Moscone Center was a bit far, so walking (40-50 mins) was next to impossible. A muni stop was right around the corner, so commuting was not a big pain.
I stayed at Sheraton at Fishermans Wharf in 2010. If I may compare, Sheraton does definitely excel. Still, I would probably stay here again at a lower rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn because the price was good and the location great. Could walk to all the touristy stuff on Fisherman's Wharf, boat and bus tours right outside the door. It was just easy. We also walked to the San Francisco Art Institute around the corner and up to the cathedral and Coit Tower. Also an easy walk to Little Italy restaurants which were great and much better than anything on the wharf. The room was basic, first floor facing an alley way --but it's winter so we didn't need a view since we were out of the room until after 5 when it gets dark. Concierge and desk people were lovely. California wine at the liquor store around the corner was more than double what the same wine costs in Massachusetts!! Go figure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelbridge4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Probably the best location in SFO city. Minutes walk from great restaurents and beach. Can see the Alcatraz from my room. Shopping centers, great bars, great seafood, cable cars! Wow!

The staff was warm and friendly, and super by US standards ;-)

Parking is expensive @ $40 per day, so you need to keep this in mind, if you are rent cars. The staff was kind enough to give me a 50% off on parking, but still not good enough. Check for parking deals/options in advance.

Room Tip: ask for wharf view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Upon check-in, we were told there was business center on the 5th floor, and that the computers had problems opening pdf files....they were correct. The business center on the 2nd floor was so slow that it appeared to have a rotary dial up connection, or just a really bad trojan program that had taken it over. Found garbage in front of our door, and then DRIED BLOOD smeared on the wall as you entered the room (room 419 needed some 409). Informed the front desk and they did move us to another room that was old, and of course, no flat screen tv in it. Holiday Inn Platinum status means nothing here.....Went to use the ATM on the 2nd floor and of course, it was out of order.......Would stay here again as next to last resort, as the last resort would be sleeping on the street with the many unlucky fellows who ask you for your spare change surrounding the property. This next to last resort is certainly NOT a resort destination.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed for one night only and the choice of the hotel was late and quickly. Our rooms have been in the "beach house", which is 5min walk away from the main building. Parking is quite expensive (40 bucks a night), but for the touristic area I think a normal price level.

Room Tip: I got a room at the street-side ... traffic noise starts getting louder at 5am.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kranhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews