We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Not the most convenient location for sight seeing but if you want to be pampered without paying an outrageous fortune, this is the place to go. The rooms are ok; the suites luxurious. The accoutremonts in the bathrooms outstanding. Free European style breakfasts save having lunch and the wine and cheese every evening could supplant dinner, especially if you are going to the theatre or a concert in the evening. Most important are the staff who are extremely welcoming, remember you from one visit to the next, and are more than helpful. Parking on the street helps with the budget as well.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bosslady000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Drisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 845 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during our two night visit to San Francisco this April. This was part of our honeymoon in the Usa' From the moment our car stopped outside to the time we left two days later, the staff looked after us wonderfully. We were greated by the porter who was very plesant and helpful and after booking in we were shown our room which was lovely. This hotel has a great character and everything is catered for. There has been so much thought put in to making our stay as enjoyable as it could be from the little things such as the branded buiscuits, water and the pillow menu to the evening cheese and wine in the dining room! All the staff were so friendly and helpful, we were given advice in relation to restaurants to go to, streets to visit and even bus numbers to use. The reception would contact the restaurant on our behalf to make the reservation. Even though there was no residents parking, this was not a problem as the staff were so helpful.
Thanks very much for your part in making our honeymoon so wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerallt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am so pleased you noticed and appreciated all the "little touches" we provide for our guests. We try very hard to anticipate any needs you may have while you are in our care. And we love suggestions as well! Some of our best ideas have come from guests that have stayed with us in the past.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Friendly staff, wonderfull location, very nice rooms, delicious breakfast. A small hotel That makes you feel like a SF resident.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel feels like home -- if you lived in a mansion and had a team of people around who really seemed to care for you. I've stayed in quite a few nice hotels in San Francisco and this is the best by far. The staff are friendly and caring without being obtrusive, and many of them have worked there for more than a decade! Magically, they will all suddenly know your name and will pro-actively work to make your stay as nice as possible.

The breakfast in the morning and wine in the evening are fantastic. The dining room is spacious and encourages you to just sit there and enjoy.

They have a free car service on weekday mornings, which can come in handy as this hotel is perched up on a hill. Bring your walking shoes!

This place is NOT for you if you are looking for the sleek chic of a W or Morgans hotel, which certainly have their charms if you are in the right frame of mind. It is also not for you if you don't want to climb a hill or call a taxi. This beautiful hotel is perched up among the mansions of the Pacific Heights, so the coffee places and restaurants, while close, require some hill-descent and ascent.

Keep your eye on the average temperature when booking this hotel, as it does not have air conditioning. I don't think that this is a major issue most of the time in San Francisco, though.

All in all, I'd encourage you to go there: I'll certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rramoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My parents (79 and 80) have stayed here two times while visiting us in San Francisco. They now refuse to stay anywhere else! The staff is very friendly and accommodating, making them feel at home. They love the free breakfast, as both the food and the atmosphere are perfect for starting the day. The rooms have the charm of a classic hotel with modern amenities like flat screen TVs and DVD players. The bathrooms are functional and clean, although they could use a little modernizing. Most importantly, the location in the heart of Pacific Heights is just perfect. The Presidio is a couple blocks West and the shops of Sacramento, California, and Fillmore streets are short walks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear MJerone,

Thank you for your kind comments -- I am so glad your grandparents enjoy staying with us!

You may be interested to know that we have retained a design firm to present us with some options for our bathrooms. At present we are proud that our bathrooms offer an exceptionally clean, comfortable, stylish and functional experience for our guests, however we do recognize that some new fittings and fixtures could elevate the guest experience even more. Stay tuned for more news on this front!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
3,288 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,140 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $535 - $1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing